Audi A3 The Audi A3 offers cutting edge engineering, performance, and luxury in one affordable package.

A3 Coolant Problem

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2009, 09:47 AM
Default A3 Coolant Problem

Hello,

I wonder if anyone can give me some pointers / advice please ?

Basically I've recently bought a second hand Audi A3 (51 plate - 66,000 miles) and it's been running fine for the last couple of months, although there was a coolant leak when I bought it so this was fixed as it was due to some problem with the radiator or pump or something (apologies, but I'm not technical as far as cars are concerned!)

Anyway, I've suddenly noticed oil patches on the driveway so it looks as though there is a problem there.
Also, the coolant warning light has started coming on the dashboard and the temperature gauge shows 120 once i've been driving for about 10 minutes.

I've topped up the coolant as it was showing under the minimum, but the next day, the same thing happened.

What is likely to be the cause of this ?
Is it serious ?

I'd appreciate any advice anyone can offer.

Thank you.

Old 09-29-2009, 10:59 AM
1st Gear

Not sure what a "51 plate" is, so no idea what year your car is.

My 2006 A3 developed a radiator leak in the middle of a vacation trip. The dealer in Calgary, Canada fixed it under warranty, and helped me get a rental car for the two days that it took to fly in the new radiator and make the repairs. They never mentioned an apparent cause, but I have heard of other A3s with radiator leaks due to faulty hose routing. I've had no problems since, but I'm thankful that my car is still covered by the Certified Pre-Owned warranty for another 18 months.

Old 09-29-2009, 11:04 AM
1st Gear

Ok, well, you may have two different problems here. First, let me say I AM NOT a Technician.