AudiForums.com

Go Back   AudiForums.com > Audi Models > Audi A4
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Audi A4 The Audi A4 model offers nimble handling and performance that makes it one of the leading cars in its class. Read more about the Audi A4 in the Audi A4 review.

Welcome to Audi Forums!
Welcome to Audi Forums,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-05-2005, 07:07 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location:
Posts: 9
Default Drive time reset on computer codes?

Hey all,

This is my first post on the forum. I have owned a 1996 2.8L A4 quattro since last march. (Wile the check engine light was on) I recently failed an emissions test (needed for my tabs) and went to get the car looked at. The reason I failed was becasue it said my engine coolant temperature failed. I went to a place that I have had work done in the past and was told that I needed a new thermostat because my engine was not getting up to running temp. He quoted me $800.00. I took the car without getting the work done (not totally trusting of this shop). Since that time (a week) I have been able to get the car to operating temp. and the check engine light has not come back on. So I took it to the emissions place again and when they went to test my car, they said that the computer had not been reset yet, and they could not even test my car. They said that when I had work done, the mechanic probably cleared the codes and that the computer had not gone through a drive cycle and the computer had not been reset.

Since then I have called and talked to another mechanic (friend) who said that he thought I had the right idea and that as long as the engine was warmed up and the check engine light was not on that I should pass the test, but that I would have to wait until I had driven through a drive cycle. Long story short...WHAT IS THE DRIVE CYCLE FOR AN A4, how long do I have to dirve before my computer will reset and the emissions place will be able to test my car?
__________________
Dylan P.
  #2  
Old 04-05-2005, 07:26 PM
BFlan2001's Avatar
5th Gear

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: South Bay
Posts: 6,508
Points: 11,464, Level: 70
Points: 11,464, Level: 70 Points: 11,464, Level: 70 Points: 11,464, Level: 70
Level up: 54%, 186 Points needed
Level up: 54% Level up: 54% Level up: 54%
Daily Activity: 3.4%
Daily Activity: 3.4% Daily Activity: 3.4% Daily Activity: 3.4%
Send a message via AIM to BFlan2001
Default RE: Drive time reset on computer codes?

never heard of a "drive cycle" that resets your CEL....it sounds like you may have a failing temp sensor (STF for another thread i just posted on a fwe minutes ago). i had a similar problem a couple months back...but it could possibly be your thermostat also...although 800 is a RIDICULOUS price for a thermostat...
__________________
  #3  
Old 04-05-2005, 08:01 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location:
Posts: 9
Default RE: Drive time reset on computer codes?

$800.00 was with labor obviously, but I don't trust the guy very much. He actually replaced my temp sensor this summer, after about two or three months the warning light came back on. This time he says it is the thermostat. My mechanic friend said that it sounded like the valve on my thermostat may be stuck open because, it takes good half hour to warm my car up to running temp. But he said that, that probably would pass my emissions if i could drive until all of the codes reset!

I also had never heard of a drive time, that is why I posted this. The emissions people and the mechanic (friend) told me that after codes have been cleared by the mechanic, it takes the car a DRIVE CYCLE to reset. ????????

Maybe someone else will know. Thanks for your help.
__________________
Dylan P.
  #4  
Old 04-05-2005, 09:28 PM
6th Gear
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Columbs, Ohio
Posts: 10,684
Send a message via AIM to Jestnomen Send a message via Yahoo to Jestnomen
Default RE: Drive time reset on computer codes?

If no other problems exist or the problem has been fixed the CEL will reset itself after 100 miles or so. You can also speed up the process by disconnecting your battery for a half hour or so. You'll need your radio safe code too, which should be in your owners manual.
__________________

2005 A4 1.8tqm Avant
2004 VW Touareg
2005.5 Audi A4
  #5  
Old 04-06-2005, 12:28 AM
BFlan2001's Avatar
5th Gear

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: South Bay
Posts: 6,508
Points: 11,464, Level: 70
Points: 11,464, Level: 70 Points: 11,464, Level: 70 Points: 11,464, Level: 70
Level up: 54%, 186 Points needed
Level up: 54% Level up: 54% Level up: 54%
Daily Activity: 3.4%
Daily Activity: 3.4% Daily Activity: 3.4% Daily Activity: 3.4%
Send a message via AIM to BFlan2001
Default RE: Drive time reset on computer codes?

if your temp sensor was recently replaced, and it takes that long for your car to warm up, than it probably is your thermostat...i just had my timing belt replaced a few months back, it cost $800 for everything (timing belt, serp belt, tensioners, rollers, water pump, and thermostat) and that also included labor...
__________________
  #6  
Old 04-06-2005, 01:37 AM
4th Gear
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4,351
Points: 8,524, Level: 62
Points: 8,524, Level: 62 Points: 8,524, Level: 62 Points: 8,524, Level: 62
Level up: 25%, 226 Points needed
Level up: 25% Level up: 25% Level up: 25%
Daily Activity: 0.2%
Daily Activity: 0.2% Daily Activity: 0.2% Daily Activity: 0.2%
Default RE: Drive time reset on computer codes?

Thermostat replacement sounds in order. It sounds like yours is stuck open.

Why don't you find someone local with a VAG-com to clear your code and then have your car checked for emissions.
__________________
2007 A4 2.0T quattro tip
Nothing upgraded yet
Consumes Oil
Bluetooth Dodgy
  #7  
Old 04-06-2005, 02:14 AM
BFlan2001's Avatar
5th Gear

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: South Bay
Posts: 6,508
Points: 11,464, Level: 70
Points: 11,464, Level: 70 Points: 11,464, Level: 70 Points: 11,464, Level: 70
Level up: 54%, 186 Points needed
Level up: 54% Level up: 54% Level up: 54%
Daily Activity: 3.4%
Daily Activity: 3.4% Daily Activity: 3.4% Daily Activity: 3.4%
Send a message via AIM to BFlan2001
Default RE: Drive time reset on computer codes?

linky
__________________
  #8  
Old 04-06-2005, 07:12 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location:
Posts: 9
Default RE: Drive time reset on computer codes?

Thanks all. You have helped and confirmed a lot of my suspisions. I think that the thermostat does need to be replaced, but I am pretty sure that I can pass emissions after the codes reset through the drive cycle (I HAD THEM CLEARED).

It is my understanding that the water pump and the timing belt are all located inthe same area as the thermostat so it is probably a good idea to have all those done at the same time. I do not know when the owner before me replaced the timing belt. I have owned the car for a year. What is the normal lifespan of a timing belt (and for that matter water pump, etc.)?
I will probaly get those done at the same time and I will estimate that I should look for a quote of around $800.

Thanks again.
__________________
Dylan P.
  #9  
Old 04-06-2005, 07:25 AM
BFlan2001's Avatar
5th Gear

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: South Bay
Posts: 6,508
Points: 11,464, Level: 70
Points: 11,464, Level: 70 Points: 11,464, Level: 70 Points: 11,464, Level: 70
Level up: 54%, 186 Points needed
Level up: 54% Level up: 54% Level up: 54%
Daily Activity: 3.4%
Daily Activity: 3.4% Daily Activity: 3.4% Daily Activity: 3.4%
Send a message via AIM to BFlan2001
Default RE: Drive time reset on computer codes?

timing belts should be replaced after 60k miles. audi suggests every 90k, but if you ask most of the people on this forum, after about 75k youre driving at your own risk...buy a snub mount and have that replaced at the same time...i didn't do this and it's going to cost me a few hours of my time to install it myself now...if you browse the forums from today you'll find a couple other threads about timing belt replacements that will tell you all you need to know...
__________________
  #10  
Old 04-06-2005, 01:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location:
Posts: 139
Default RE: Drive time reset on computer codes?

Not sure on the 2.8 but on the 1.8t the thermostat housing is easily accessible from under the car, maybe it's located in the same general area. The housing (if it is standard on all a4's) is held on with 2 10mm bolts, then when you pull the therm. it will spray coolant on every thing around you, even if you have drained it from the system. If it is in te same area, it's not a bad replacement job. But when mine failed emissions, the mechanic reset the ecu, hade me drive it for like 2 days and rescanned it and it all passed. Just fyi I guess.
__________________
2000 S4 Manual, Baily DV's, Full Samco Hose Kit, Mille Miglia Porsche Cup 1 Wheels

(Killed by a Drunk Driver) '98.5 1.8TQMS, GIAC Chip, TurboXS DV, Custom 2.5" Exhaust, 17" Konig Livewire Wheels
Old 04-06-2005, 01:24 PM
 
 
 
Reply


Tags
28, a4, audi, bmw, car, clear, codes, computer, cycle, cycles, drive, emissions, emmission, failed, long, reset, test


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
New Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Internet Brands, Inc.
Emails Backup