How do I disconnect abs control module? - AudiForums.com
AudiForums.com

Go Back   AudiForums.com > Audi Models > Audi A4
Search

Audi A4 The Audi A4 model offers nimble handling and performance that makes it one of the leading cars in its class. Read more about the Audi A4 in the Audi A4 review.



Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-15-2006, 03:12 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 80
Default How do I disconnect abs control module?

I want to check out my speedometer to check if all the wiring is alright. Do I need to remove the whole dash or can I reach from behind somehow? Is there a write-up anywhere?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-15-2006, 03:19 AM
2nd Gear
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location:
Posts: 505
Default RE: Do I have to remove dashboard to get to speedometer?

Dang I forgot to check which car.

Oh well it is probably an A4 or an A6. You can pull the instrument cluster by getting about 4 screws on the underside of the black plastic chunk right below your speedometer (right above the steering wheel) it should span the whole length of the instrument cluster. THen pull another 2-3 screws that are behind the plastic that are holding in the clear plastic cluster. The whole set of instruments should come out, no dash removal.
__________________
http://www.overflowtank.com/forum/images/smiles/badlink.gif
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-15-2006, 03:32 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 80
Default RE: Do I have to remove dashboard to get to speedometer?

The car is a 99 a4. The reason I want to take t out is to check if all the wiring is fine because every once in a while my tach drops to zero and the abs, brake light, and low oil pressure lights come on. I have another post where I asked that question. A friend said it was most likely the instrument cluster. How do I tell if something is bad? Whats a sign that something is messed up? And can you be a little more specific with your instructions? The're not too clear. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-15-2006, 03:43 AM
2nd Gear
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location:
Posts: 505
Default RE: Do I have to remove dashboard to get to speedometer?

Do all the instruments drop (fuel, alt, etc?) it is probably a ground wire especially if the tach is dropping to zero but the car stays on.

I thought my directions were clear.

Ok, the speedometer is behind clear plastic.
put your finger at the center of the clear plastic.
Run your finger down the clear plastic to the first big hunk of non clear plastic you find.
On the underside of that piece of ~1.5 feet X 3" thick long non clear plastic is 4 screws.
Remove the four screws.
The long thin strip of plastic will come out but it has a tab on one end, so you pull out one end (the driver door side) then the other end.
Behind that piece of plastic is 2 or 3 screws which hold your instrument cluster in. After removing those screws it will slide out and you can look at all the wiring.

A ground wire should be loose or barely hanging on. Repair/ reinsert clip.
__________________
http://www.overflowtank.com/forum/images/smiles/badlink.gif
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-16-2006, 12:12 PM
3rd Gear
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location:
Posts: 2,646
Default RE: Do I have to remove dashboard to get to speedometer?

Sounds more like can data bus failure. Cehck for faults in the moules. You may want to try unplugging the abs control module and see if the other lights stay off. Then you know the abs control moudle is causing can data bus issues.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-16-2006, 09:44 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 80
Default RE: Do I have to remove dashboard to get to speedometer?

I took the instrument panel off but there was nothing wrong...everything was plugged in right. So it must be the abs control module. Where is it located? How do I get to it?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-17-2006, 01:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 602
Default RE: Do I have to remove dashboard to get to speedometer?

Wierd, every once in a w hile, my speedo jumps up and down from 0 to my current speed... sound like a ground wire ? No other gauges do it though, just the speedo.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-18-2006, 02:16 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 80
Default RE: Do I have to remove dashboard to get to speedometer?

Where exactly is the abc control module located? I checked under the rear seat but didn't see anything other than a black box that said alarm on it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-18-2006, 07:59 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location:
Posts: 12,826
Default RE: Do I have to remove dashboard to get to speedometer?

ABS ECU is built into the ABS unit under the hood/bonnet that's the block where all the break pipes go into,
also check vehicle speed sensor ( VSS ) for poor electrical connections this will also effect the speedometer

[IMG]local://upfiles/12092/795937FA46734ADF8E93948959926FEB.gif[/IMG]
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-18-2006, 12:11 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 80
Default RE: Do I have to remove dashboard to get to speedometer?

So can I still unplug it somehow to see if it's the control module acting up? What exactly do I unplug?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-19-2006, 02:19 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 80
Default RE: Do I have to remove dashboard to get to speedometer?

anybody know?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-19-2006, 04:57 AM
2nd Gear
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 1,489
Send a message via AIM to Cameron
Default RE: Do I have to remove dashboard to get to speedometer?

If someone anyone can post up an engine picture, I can show you wish one (fender-fender pic would be best).

Basically it looks like the thing avant posted, but that is a side view. It has 4 or 5 solid black lines coming out of it and routing through the bay. Right below those is a plug about 4 inches wide, 1 to 3/4" thick. There's a pull tap you have to slide out of the way for the plug to release. It is a little tricky at first if it hasn't been done in a while so you might have to wiggle it.
__________________


2001 Audi A4 Quattro 1.8T
2000 Honda CBR 600 F4
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply


Tags
a4, abc, abs, audi, bad, canam, clear, control, cover, disconnect, module, plastic, removing, speedometer, unit


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
And control module Saxton Audi A4 0 07-16-2015 09:00 PM
Where is my fan control module? Huskerbob B5 Models 2 08-24-2013 02:46 PM
ABS control module bad makav3li Audi A6 7 01-23-2010 07:08 PM
Location Cruise Control control module JDriver2 Audi A6 0 07-10-2006 11:16 PM
99 A6 Q Fan Control Module jlabahn Audi A6 0 06-18-2005 03:54 AM

 
Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:09 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.
Emails Backup