Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

98 A6 Quattro 65K miles T-Belt & Cam shaft seal issue

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2004, 06:52 AM
1st Gear
Default 98 A6 Quattro 65K miles T-Belt & Cam shaft seal issue

Hi to all :

I am new to this Audi Forum. Just bought a 1998 A6 Qiattro with 30 Valves 2.8 L engine with 65,000 miles on it and it was a one owner car.

I have went thru all posts about when and what mileage is better for changing the Timing Belt issues.

But seems no body mentioned about changing the two cam shaft seals at the same time when changing the Timing Belt -- water pump, tensioner.....etc. Because my Audi mechanic mentioned to me that he had changed quite a few of cam shaft seals of those A6 2.8 L engine.

Especially when there are engine oil drip on the floor from the top of the engine.

I intend to change the T.B. at around 75K miles. My mechanic quote me the price of $600 for changing the timing belt, tensioner, water pump, rollers and the front multi-rip belt. But if I want to, it is the best time to change that cam shaft seals for an extra $ 400.

I don't have to do that cam shaft seal deal, he told me, but if that cam shaft seal leak and I want to keep the car, then I have to take off that timing belt again.

My questions here are:

1. According to majority combined Audi tech. experienced opinions, at what mileage,
if keeping normal oil change intervals, should that cam shaft seals weared out and
leak oil ????

2. At 75 K miles, I also plan to change the Automatic Transmission oil and differiential oil, my mechanic quote me around a price of $ 200 , is that reasonable ??? Or do I need to do that at all ???

Thanks.

Sthelen

Old 12-28-2004, 11:42 AM
6th Gear
Default RE: 98 A6 Quattro 65K miles T-Belt & Cam shaft seal issue