AudiForums.com

Go Back   AudiForums.com > Audi Models > Audi A6
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Photos FAQ Members Parts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read ExperienceGarageUsed CarsVendor Directory
Search
Welcome to AudiForums.com

Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by Audi USA Parts
Click Here


Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 03-03-2008, 12:34 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 60
Default A6 - Resetting computer to pass inspection ???

On my 2.8 A6 avant quattro I am getting the followingComputer Code - P0432 - Main catalyst. Since i am getting the car inspected soon, how long do i have to wait after the code is reset (and the check engine light then turns off) to pass an inspection for the car.I was told you have to drive a certain amount of milesor have the car running for a certain amount of time after the computer is reset in order to pass an inspection.

please advise
  #2  
Old 03-03-2008, 12:44 PM
3rd Gear
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Newfields NH
Posts: 2,371
Points: 6,483, Level: 52
Points: 6,483, Level: 52 Points: 6,483, Level: 52 Points: 6,483, Level: 52
Level up: 67%, 67 Points needed
Level up: 67% Level up: 67% Level up: 67%
Daily Activity: 1.1%
Daily Activity: 1.1% Daily Activity: 1.1% Daily Activity: 1.1%
Default RE: A6 - Resetting computer to pass inspection ???

I have heard different stories about that but can't see how they can tell when it was reset. I do it each year on my 87 A6 - it throws a air pump code after a few drives so I just reset it before going to the inspection station. Somday I'll attempt to fix it. The only down side is that if it threw another code I would not know it until I connected my VAGCom. And the damn ligh tis annoying....
__________________
1997 A6 Avant with over 250,000 miles - Now dead
2007 Dodge Grand Caravan SXT - 2002 Dodge Caravan
1999 Mercury Sable Wagon w/48K miles
1919 Model T Ford Beach Wagon - AKA Woodie
  #3  
Old 03-03-2008, 01:46 PM
2nd Gear
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 905
Send a message via AIM to joetm
Default RE: A6 - Resetting computer to pass inspection ???

just clear the code with vagcom when you pull up to where ever you get your car inspected and it should stay off while they are doing what they gotta do to inspect it
__________________
2008 Tahoe LTZ blk on blk
Parrot handsfree bluetooth / GM Lockpick NAV hack module / xenon headlights / smoked tail lights / 20% tint all around / painted black badges / HID fogs

1800watt MTX amp
12'' MTX Sledgehammer Sub
Used to have:
2002 a6 2.7t s-line / GIAC / REMUS / AWE-Tuning s-flo intake / Forge splitter DVs / vast stage 3 tip chip /vast piggies / obx manifolds / samco tbb / 19''x8'' MMR wheels
  #4  
Old 03-03-2008, 02:13 PM
hxgaser's Avatar
3rd Gear

 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,970
Points: 5,940, Level: 49
Points: 5,940, Level: 49 Points: 5,940, Level: 49 Points: 5,940, Level: 49
Level up: 95%, 10 Points needed
Level up: 95% Level up: 95% Level up: 95%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default RE: A6 - Resetting computer to pass inspection ???

It may or may not work. In California, smog machine not only checks for any CELs, but it also checks for a readiness code. When the CELs are reset, ECU cycles through certain criteria, such as time it has been driven, information fromall emission related equipment, and duration and etc. Then it sets a readiness code once everything checks out. If the readiness code is not set, then you can't pass smog check.

The readiness code may set after you reset the CELs, but you need to verify with a code reader that has readiness checking capability.
__________________
2004 V70R M66 - Current
2001 A6 Avant - Past
2.8 ATQ, Quattro, Tiptronic
Mods - Was chipped, but not now... Was using K&N, but not now...
Repairs - Too many to list! And you wonder why I still drive an Audi So I don't drive one now.
  #5  
Old 03-03-2008, 03:50 PM
railrunner's Avatar
4th Gear
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 4,201
Points: 6,305, Level: 51
Points: 6,305, Level: 51 Points: 6,305, Level: 51 Points: 6,305, Level: 51
Level up: 78%, 45 Points needed
Level up: 78% Level up: 78% Level up: 78%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default RE: A6 - Resetting computer to pass inspection ???

I believe it needs to run about 50 miles. I was told 150. I had mine reset and went straight to inspection and it could not read anything. It needs enough miles to get a read on the system but not enough for the cell to pop again.
  #6  
Old 03-03-2008, 04:15 PM
3rd Gear
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Newfields NH
Posts: 2,371
Points: 6,483, Level: 52
Points: 6,483, Level: 52 Points: 6,483, Level: 52 Points: 6,483, Level: 52
Level up: 67%, 67 Points needed
Level up: 67% Level up: 67% Level up: 67%
Daily Activity: 1.1%
Daily Activity: 1.1% Daily Activity: 1.1% Daily Activity: 1.1%
Default RE: A6 - Resetting computer to pass inspection ???

This is what Ross Tech says about readiness codes --

http://www.ross-tech.com/vag-com/tour/readiness.html

__________________
1997 A6 Avant with over 250,000 miles - Now dead
2007 Dodge Grand Caravan SXT - 2002 Dodge Caravan
1999 Mercury Sable Wagon w/48K miles
1919 Model T Ford Beach Wagon - AKA Woodie
  #7  
Old 03-04-2008, 11:49 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Default RE: A6 - Resetting computer to pass inspection ???

pi
Quote:
ORIGINAL: hxgaser

It may or may not work. In California, smog machine not only checks for any CELs, but it also checks for a readiness code. When the CELs are reset, ECU cycles through certain criteria, such as time it has been driven, information fromall emission related equipment, and duration and etc. Then it sets a readiness code once everything checks out. If the readiness code is not set, then you can't pass smog check.

The readiness code may set after you reset the CELs, but you need to verify with a code reader that has readiness checking capability.
Sorry, but this is a myth. I have a bad cat monitor so the car throws a code after about 15 miles. I have twice reset the computer, driven to a 'test only' facility and passed with flying colors. There is no "readiness code."
  #8  
Old 03-05-2008, 10:19 AM
hxgaser's Avatar
3rd Gear

 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,970
Points: 5,940, Level: 49
Points: 5,940, Level: 49 Points: 5,940, Level: 49 Points: 5,940, Level: 49
Level up: 95%, 10 Points needed
Level up: 95% Level up: 95% Level up: 95%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default RE: A6 - Resetting computer to pass inspection ???

Well, good that yours passed, but mine didn't.There is a such thing as a readiness code. It is the indicator showing all emission related equipments are working correctly. Dealers even rely on readiness code for replacement of the catalytic converters and any other emmision related equipment. I can show you my code reader showing readiness information if you want...

It might be nice if you did some research before you completly put down other people's opinion. And in your case, you are dead wrong.

By the way, the cat monitor that you are talking about is called oxygen sensors.
__________________
2004 V70R M66 - Current
2001 A6 Avant - Past
2.8 ATQ, Quattro, Tiptronic
Mods - Was chipped, but not now... Was using K&N, but not now...
Repairs - Too many to list! And you wonder why I still drive an Audi So I don't drive one now.
  #9  
Old 03-05-2008, 12:48 PM
3rd Gear
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Newfields NH
Posts: 2,371
Points: 6,483, Level: 52
Points: 6,483, Level: 52 Points: 6,483, Level: 52 Points: 6,483, Level: 52
Level up: 67%, 67 Points needed
Level up: 67% Level up: 67% Level up: 67%
Daily Activity: 1.1%
Daily Activity: 1.1% Daily Activity: 1.1% Daily Activity: 1.1%
Default RE: A6 - Resetting computer to pass inspection ???

Hey Deucey -- hxgaser is right!

Ross-Tech clearly explains readiness codes.

If the shop you deal with dosen't look at them it dosen't mean they don't exist.
If that was the case I'd close my eyes everytime I passed a cop and he wouldn't see me.We all know that if I did that I'd get his attention when I hit something...

__________________
1997 A6 Avant with over 250,000 miles - Now dead
2007 Dodge Grand Caravan SXT - 2002 Dodge Caravan
1999 Mercury Sable Wagon w/48K miles
1919 Model T Ford Beach Wagon - AKA Woodie
  #10  
Old 03-06-2008, 09:37 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 60
Default RE: A6 - Resetting computer to pass inspection ???

Does the Computer Code - P0432 - Main catalyst mean the drivers side cat is bad or just the oxygen sensor. if the cat is bad, can it damage the motor or effect performance and gas mileage?
Old 03-06-2008, 09:37 AM
 
 
 
Reply


Tags
car, cel, clear, code, computer, ecu, gm, hack, inspection, pass, readiness, reset, reseting, resetting, set, smog


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
New Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Internet Brands, Inc.
Emails Backup