AudiForums.com

Go Back   AudiForums.com > Audi Models > Audi A6
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Photos FAQ Members Parts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read ExperienceGarageUsed CarsVendor Directory
Search
Welcome to AudiForums.com

Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by Audi USA Parts
Click Here


Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 09-16-2009, 08:38 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 8
Default Audi A6 2.7t how to get out of LIMP mode?

I guess battery went dead, and my trany went into a limp mode.. all PRND432 are lid, and its stuck in 3rd or 4th gear. R is fine. How to get out?
  #2  
Old 09-16-2009, 10:12 PM
Bklynrx7's Avatar
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 242
Points: 4,219, Level: 41
Points: 4,219, Level: 41 Points: 4,219, Level: 41 Points: 4,219, Level: 41
Level up: 35%, 131 Points needed
Level up: 35% Level up: 35% Level up: 35%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default

I think it depends on whats causing the limp mode. When it was throwing tranny codes turning the car off and back on took it out of limp mode untill i passed 1st gear. But after I got my timingbelt/waterpump replaced I had to clear the codes manully before it would leave limp mode. Try getting it scanned with a vag-com or obdii tool to see whats causing it and if you can simply clear it.
  #3  
Old 09-17-2009, 07:48 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Calgary Alberta
Posts: 311
Points: 3,786, Level: 38
Points: 3,786, Level: 38 Points: 3,786, Level: 38 Points: 3,786, Level: 38
Level up: 91%, 14 Points needed
Level up: 91% Level up: 91% Level up: 91%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default

The tranny should not go into limp mode if the battery dies, if your tranny is in limp mode, you need to get it scanned and have a look at the codes. By the sounds of it, you are going to get a powertrain databus code, no communication with the TCU, or implausibile signal, something like that. I would say, scan and clear the codes, see what comes back, then repost here
__________________
Supreme being
  #4  
Old 10-28-2009, 03:11 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Default Limp mode

I had the unfortunate LIMP mode on my car when I was testing some upgrades on the ECU for the engine and for the tranny.
Not a fun experience, however i found that it is either related to the ECU or the TCU. clearing codes will not help, sometimes just patience but will fail again.
I dont think is related to the battery either.
But I will start by reading the codes and see where that leads you to.
Let us know how it goes
__________________
New to Audi but willing to experiment and grow!
A6 2001 2.7T
Old 10-28-2009, 03:11 PM
 
 
 
Reply


Tags
2001, 27, 27t, 95, 99, a6, allroad, audi, causing, clear, limp, mode, tcu, transmission, vag


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
New Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.
Internet Brands, Inc.
Emails Backup