AudiForums.com

Go Back   AudiForums.com > Audi Models > Audi A6
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by Audi USA Parts
Click Here


Welcome to Audi Forums!
Welcome to Audi Forums,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 12-11-2009, 03:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Greenville, South Carolina
Posts: 96
Default Radio Code for unclocking "safe" mode.

Hello,

Was working on my car yesterday, had to pull out the back seat. Disconnected the negative on the battery due to my car having side air bags. didnt wanna take the chance.

Obviously my radio is now in safe mode. Did not realize that Audi charges $65 bucks to get the code... (someone tell me if this is already bullshit fromthe stealerships mouth).

Also, my car is an 01. They said if the code was ever pulled for my car, then they would have it in there system. Follow my thoughts here: Every time the negative was pulled on that car, the car goes into safe mode. meaning the negative was NEVER pulled on it prior to me doing it yesterday. is it even possible that my battery was never replaced by the previous owner when the car is that old? or that the dealership never disconnected it do to work on the vehicle?

How can i talk w/ the dealership to get that code w/o spending fricken 65 bucks?
  #2  
Old 12-11-2009, 04:23 PM
1st Gear

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 28
Points: 2,414, Level: 29
Points: 2,414, Level: 29 Points: 2,414, Level: 29 Points: 2,414, Level: 29
Level up: 76%, 36 Points needed
Level up: 76% Level up: 76% Level up: 76%
Daily Activity: 1.7%
Daily Activity: 1.7% Daily Activity: 1.7% Daily Activity: 1.7%
Default

If you drive around a few trips your radio should come back on. Once the radio realizes its the same car it'll go out of safemode
  #3  
Old 12-11-2009, 05:30 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 147
Default

The code is in the radio user manual that came with the car. If you don't have the manuals, ask the previous owner for them.
  #4  
Old 12-12-2009, 04:12 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 403
Default

$65? wow, you could get another OEM radio off eBay for cheaper than that.

Justingm001: i hope you are right because i didn't get the code with my car and im sure at some point in time i will need to disconnect the battery.
__________________

1999 A4 Quattro 2.8l 30v, 1999 A6 Avant, 2000 MB ml320
1972 Datsun 240z | 5.3l lm7 v8 | Garrett gt4082 turbo | Borg-Warner t56 6spd | IS300 rear suspension | MK4 Supra front suspension
  #5  
Old 12-12-2009, 04:49 PM
2nd Gear
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Goodrich, Michigan
Posts: 1,430
Default

I've disconnected my battery several times and never had it go into safe mode. I DO have an Owner's Manual with the radio codes, but, strangely, the manual is for a 2003 and I have a 2002, so I have my suspicions that the cades won't work, then I'll be in the same boat as you! Hope the "drive it til it likes you" method works!

Bob
  #6  
Old 12-12-2009, 05:08 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: York Pa
Posts: 25
Points: 3,782, Level: 38
Points: 3,782, Level: 38 Points: 3,782, Level: 38 Points: 3,782, Level: 38
Level up: 88%, 18 Points needed
Level up: 88% Level up: 88% Level up: 88%
Daily Activity: 7.1%
Daily Activity: 7.1% Daily Activity: 7.1% Daily Activity: 7.1%
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by twinturbosixer View Post
Hello,

Was working on my car yesterday, had to pull out the back seat. Disconnected the negative on the battery due to my car having side air bags. didnt wanna take the chance.

Obviously my radio is now in safe mode. Did not realize that Audi charges $65 bucks to get the code... (someone tell me if this is already bullshit fromthe stealerships mouth).

Also, my car is an 01. They said if the code was ever pulled for my car, then they would have it in there system. Follow my thoughts here: Every time the negative was pulled on that car, the car goes into safe mode. meaning the negative was NEVER pulled on it prior to me doing it yesterday. is it even possible that my battery was never replaced by the previous owner when the car is that old? or that the dealership never disconnected it do to work on the vehicle?

How can i talk w/ the dealership to get that code w/o spending fricken 65 bucks?
That is the labor they will charge to pull the radio to get the code; i believe the code is on the radio itself.

The code comes with the original user manual, if it is not in the book, the previous owner removed it. If the code was pulled from "that dealership" they would have it on file; i dont think they would share personal info from dealership to dealership. If the battery were replaced, the previous owner had the code to take the radio off safe mode, and yes, with mine, every time i had to disconnect the battery my radio goes into safe mode

Try and befriend one of the techs at the dealership, maybe they can do it for you on the side. I got a hook up at the dealership i go too, so the tech works on my car on the side.

I will send you my code via PM; see if that works
__________________
2000 Audi A6 4.2
1993 Nissan NX2000
1992 Nissan Pulsar GTI-R
  #7  
Old 12-12-2009, 07:15 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Calgary Alberta
Posts: 311
Points: 3,786, Level: 38
Points: 3,786, Level: 38 Points: 3,786, Level: 38 Points: 3,786, Level: 38
Level up: 91%, 14 Points needed
Level up: 91% Level up: 91% Level up: 91%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default

I believe that you can only get the code form the Delaer, that's where I got mine from, unless you have the radio manual. I do not believe that the radio will come out of safe unless you enter the code. I have driven for weeks in safe, I didn't decide to start working
__________________
Supreme being
  #8  
Old 12-12-2009, 07:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: ct
Posts: 60
Points: 1,522, Level: 22
Points: 1,522, Level: 22 Points: 1,522, Level: 22 Points: 1,522, Level: 22
Level up: 22%, 78 Points needed
Level up: 22% Level up: 22% Level up: 22%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default

The code is not on the radio, you will have to get it from previous owner or the dealer. I went in and told the dealer I was getting the code for a shop (which I was) and they gave it to me without hassle. It took a bit but I eventually got it. Then I had to drive the car for a few days with it in safe mode, eventually it let me enter the code (I think I had to drive it 100 miles). Your best bet is to buddy up with someone at the dealer and they may be nice and get the code for you.
  #9  
Old 12-12-2009, 10:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Greenville, South Carolina
Posts: 96
Default

i drove to charlotte today w/ my car (100 miles each way). So i do not believe the "drive until it likes you" method will work. I leave for Michigan (From south carolina) next weekend so i need a radio by then. It hasnt been "asking for a code" yet. it just says safe.

Does anyone know this: Can you enter the code whenever? or will the display say "enter code"
  #10  
Old 12-13-2009, 12:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: ct
Posts: 60
Points: 1,522, Level: 22
Points: 1,522, Level: 22 Points: 1,522, Level: 22 Points: 1,522, Level: 22
Level up: 22%, 78 Points needed
Level up: 22% Level up: 22% Level up: 22%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default

You have to hold the rbts (or what ever the radio station id thing is called) for like 5 seconds and it will allow you to enter the code. I am positive there is a time/mileage wicket that has to be met before you can enter the code but I don't think it is more than 100 miles. I don't recall exactly because it was so long ago. I'll check my Bentley's in the morning if you still need (if it is even in there).
  #11  
Old 12-13-2009, 12:43 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 110
Default

How insane... So eventually when I change my battery I'll have to have a code to get my stereo to work again?
  #12  
Old 12-13-2009, 12:35 PM
1st Gear

 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 157
Points: 4,159, Level: 41
Points: 4,159, Level: 41 Points: 4,159, Level: 41 Points: 4,159, Level: 41
Level up: 5%, 191 Points needed
Level up: 5% Level up: 5% Level up: 5%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default

One- the code was not printed on the radio. As it is an anti-theft feature, that would make the whole system pointless. (Now, YOU could put it there if you have the radio out.)

Two- Depending on the software in the radio, it may or may not need the code for a power loss. Some radio's "remember" the ECU or Speed-o-meter (serial number or something) and "know" if they are in the same car. These seem to be the newer manufactured radios. The original radio in my 2000 asked for the code all the time, the "identical" replacement with the same PN, asked for the code only when first installed.

Three- You shouldn't have to drive the car to input the code. The radio manual that came with my car had the correct code but was not the correct manual for the type radio installed. I had to poke buttons to find the correct buttons to input the codes. I later found the procedure on the net. Google can be your friend...
__________________
Mike
2000 A6 2.7t, Hillsboro Oregon
When taking advice from any forum, remember how much you paid for it.
  #13  
Old 12-13-2009, 12:52 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 112
Points: 4,000, Level: 40
Points: 4,000, Level: 40 Points: 4,000, Level: 40 Points: 4,000, Level: 40
Level up: 25%, 150 Points needed
Level up: 25% Level up: 25% Level up: 25%
Daily Activity: 0.7%
Daily Activity: 0.7% Daily Activity: 0.7% Daily Activity: 0.7%
Default

The dealer has to scan your car, then use the radio vin against a database to get the codes. Generally this costs 30 min worth of labor which is the minimum an audi shop will charge for any work they do. The dealer will then program it in for you and give you the code on your receipt so you have for future use. they also keep it on file at the dealer.
__________________
2001 4.2 C5
  #14  
Old 12-14-2009, 09:17 AM
1st Gear

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 28
Points: 2,414, Level: 29
Points: 2,414, Level: 29 Points: 2,414, Level: 29 Points: 2,414, Level: 29
Level up: 76%, 36 Points needed
Level up: 76% Level up: 76% Level up: 76%
Daily Activity: 1.7%
Daily Activity: 1.7% Daily Activity: 1.7% Daily Activity: 1.7%
Default

I have my battery out of my car and am replacing my turbos. This will be a monthlong process so I really hope I don't need the code as they gave me the wrong radio manual with my car. I have a vagcom but on their site it says you can't get the code from vagcom. I'm assuming maybe if you get your radio vin or w/e then take it to the dealer they will tell you the code. It sucks when antitheft stuff like this causes more harm than good.
  #15  
Old 04-04-2013, 02:52 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Default

If you have the serial number off the radio then call Audi’s customer assistance to speak with a Audi Customer CARE Advocate. Call 1-800-822-2834 (AUDI), Mon-Fri, 8 am to 8 pm, Eastern Time. If you tell them your Vehicle ID number and the radio serial number they will ask you some questions to verify the vehicle is registered to you and then they should provide you with the code for FREE. This typically takes a couple of days.
  #16  
Old 04-17-2013, 04:31 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 55
Points: 1,864, Level: 25
Points: 1,864, Level: 25 Points: 1,864, Level: 25 Points: 1,864, Level: 25
Level up: 64%, 36 Points needed
Level up: 64% Level up: 64% Level up: 64%
Daily Activity: 2.0%
Daily Activity: 2.0% Daily Activity: 2.0% Daily Activity: 2.0%
Default Thats exactly what I di...d

called Audi customer care and they gave me the code
__________________
1989 100Q L5 M
1997 A6 Q V6 A
  #17  
Old 04-17-2013, 06:45 PM
ppgoal's Avatar
3rd Gear

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Holland MI
Posts: 2,476
Points: 9,633, Level: 65
Points: 9,633, Level: 65 Points: 9,633, Level: 65 Points: 9,633, Level: 65
Level up: 95%, 17 Points needed
Level up: 95% Level up: 95% Level up: 95%
Daily Activity: 69.6%
Daily Activity: 69.6% Daily Activity: 69.6% Daily Activity: 69.6%
Default

Most shops can plug a small 9v gizmo into your cigar lighter that provides power to the system when the battery is disconnected. You can buy them at Autozone for less than $10. This gives the radio enough juice that it does not think it is being stolen, and does not go into safe mode.
__________________
2011 A4 2.0T MT6 (106k)
Premium Plus; Colgan Bra
2003 A6 2.7T MT6 (backup/winter beater 235k)
Premium-Cold Weather; Colgan Bra
GIAC-Bailey DVs-Samco TBB-K&N
AWE Stage 2 Clutch+Lightweight Flywheel
Billy Boat Downpipe Kit; SS Brakelines
2003 A4 3.0 MT6 (daughter's; my title 123k)
  #18  
Old 12-08-2013, 02:07 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
Default radio issues

I drive a 1999 a6 and a few months ago I had to replace my alternator which turned on my safe mode setting. unfortunately I entered the code on the radio card which was the wrong one the previous owner wrote it on the back the problem is now when I hold down the buttons to enter in the correct code it doesn't come up that I can enter it in. has anyone had this problem or know what I should do? I have to drive from sc to Vermont and I neeeeeed a radio.
  #19  
Old 05-08-2014, 03:39 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
Points: 49, Level: 1
Points: 49, Level: 1 Points: 49, Level: 1 Points: 49, Level: 1
Level up: 98%, 1 Points needed
Level up: 98% Level up: 98% Level up: 98%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default Forum help

I have been member for 35 minutes and already found the answer to my 1st need. The Radio Code info is available from Audi Customer Care 800 822 2834. Thanks for all the help.
  #20  
Old 05-15-2014, 01:38 AM
1st Gear

 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 23
Points: 4,172, Level: 41
Points: 4,172, Level: 41 Points: 4,172, Level: 41 Points: 4,172, Level: 41
Level up: 11%, 178 Points needed
Level up: 11% Level up: 11% Level up: 11%
Daily Activity: 20.6%
Daily Activity: 20.6% Daily Activity: 20.6% Daily Activity: 20.6%
Default

If you have, or can acquire, the tool to remove the radio, you can get your code from the radio unit itself.

When changing the battery, keep some current going to the battery cable with the old battery using a jumper cable, or with a battery charger. That way, if you're careful enough, you can swap out the battery without causing safe mode. Guys at the Audi parts counter told me to try it that way.
Old 05-15-2014, 01:38 AM
 
 
 
Reply


Tags
2000, 2001, 2002, 99, a3, a4, a6, audi, battery, code, disconnected, input, inputting, mode, radio, safe, start


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
New Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:22 PM.


Internet Brands, Inc.
Emails Backup