AudiForums.com

Go Back   AudiForums.com > Audi Models > Audi A6
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Photos FAQ Members Parts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read ExperienceGarageUsed CarsVendors TSBs
Search
Welcome to AudiForums.com

Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by Audi USA Parts
Click Here


Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 12-11-2009, 03:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Greenville, South Carolina
Posts: 96
Default Radio Code for unclocking "safe" mode.

Hello,

Was working on my car yesterday, had to pull out the back seat. Disconnected the negative on the battery due to my car having side air bags. didnt wanna take the chance.

Obviously my radio is now in safe mode. Did not realize that Audi charges $65 bucks to get the code... (someone tell me if this is already bullshit fromthe stealerships mouth).

Also, my car is an 01. They said if the code was ever pulled for my car, then they would have it in there system. Follow my thoughts here: Every time the negative was pulled on that car, the car goes into safe mode. meaning the negative was NEVER pulled on it prior to me doing it yesterday. is it even possible that my battery was never replaced by the previous owner when the car is that old? or that the dealership never disconnected it do to work on the vehicle?

How can i talk w/ the dealership to get that code w/o spending fricken 65 bucks?
  #2  
Old 12-11-2009, 04:23 PM
1st Gear

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 28
Points: 2,414, Level: 29
Points: 2,414, Level: 29 Points: 2,414, Level: 29 Points: 2,414, Level: 29
Level up: 76%, 36 Points needed
Level up: 76% Level up: 76% Level up: 76%
Daily Activity: 1.7%
Daily Activity: 1.7% Daily Activity: 1.7% Daily Activity: 1.7%
Default

If you drive around a few trips your radio should come back on. Once the radio realizes its the same car it'll go out of safemode
  #3  
Old 12-11-2009, 05:30 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 147
Default

The code is in the radio user manual that came with the car. If you don't have the manuals, ask the previous owner for them.
  #4  
Old 12-12-2009, 04:12 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 403
Default

$65? wow, you could get another OEM radio off eBay for cheaper than that.

Justingm001: i hope you are right because i didn't get the code with my car and im sure at some point in time i will need to disconnect the battery.
__________________

1999 A4 Quattro 2.8l 30v, 1999 A6 Avant, 2000 MB ml320
1972 Datsun 240z | 5.3l lm7 v8 | Garrett gt4082 turbo | Borg-Warner t56 6spd | IS300 rear suspension | MK4 Supra front suspension
  #5  
Old 12-12-2009, 04:49 PM
2nd Gear
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Goodrich, Michigan
Posts: 1,430
Default

I've disconnected my battery several times and never had it go into safe mode. I DO have an Owner's Manual with the radio codes, but, strangely, the manual is for a 2003 and I have a 2002, so I have my suspicions that the cades won't work, then I'll be in the same boat as you! Hope the "drive it til it likes you" method works!

Bob
  #6  
Old 12-12-2009, 05:08 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: York Pa
Posts: 25
Points: 3,782, Level: 38
Points: 3,782, Level: 38 Points: 3,782, Level: 38 Points: 3,782, Level: 38
Level up: 88%, 18 Points needed
Level up: 88% Level up: 88% Level up: 88%
Daily Activity: 7.1%
Daily Activity: 7.1% Daily Activity: 7.1% Daily Activity: 7.1%
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by twinturbosixer View Post
Hello,

Was working on my car yesterday, had to pull out the back seat. Disconnected the negative on the battery due to my car having side air bags. didnt wanna take the chance.

Obviously my radio is now in safe mode. Did not realize that Audi charges $65 bucks to get the code... (someone tell me if this is already bullshit fromthe stealerships mouth).

Also, my car is an 01. They said if the code was ever pulled for my car, then they would have it in there system. Follow my thoughts here: Every time the negative was pulled on that car, the car goes into safe mode. meaning the negative was NEVER pulled on it prior to me doing it yesterday. is it even possible that my battery was never replaced by the previous owner when the car is that old? or that the dealership never disconnected it do to work on the vehicle?

How can i talk w/ the dealership to get that code w/o spending fricken 65 bucks?
That is the labor they will charge to pull the radio to get the code; i believe the code is on the radio itself.

The code comes with the original user manual, if it is not in the book, the previous owner removed it. If the code was pulled from "that dealership" they would have it on file; i dont think they would share personal info from dealership to dealership. If the battery were replaced, the previous owner had the code to take the radio off safe mode, and yes, with mine, every time i had to disconnect the battery my radio goes into safe mode

Try and befriend one of the techs at the dealership, maybe they can do it for you on the side. I got a hook up at the dealership i go too, so the tech works on my car on the side.

I will send you my code via PM; see if that works
__________________
2000 Audi A6 4.2
1993 Nissan NX2000
1992 Nissan Pulsar GTI-R
  #7  
Old 12-12-2009, 07:15 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Calgary Alberta
Posts: 311
Points: 3,786, Level: 38
Points: 3,786, Level: 38 Points: 3,786, Level: 38 Points: 3,786, Level: 38
Level up: 91%, 14 Points needed
Level up: 91% Level up: 91% Level up: 91%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default

I believe that you can only get the code form the Delaer, that's where I got mine from, unless you have the radio manual. I do not believe that the radio will come out of safe unless you enter the code. I have driven for weeks in safe, I didn't decide to start working
__________________
Supreme being
  #8  
Old 12-12-2009, 07:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: ct
Posts: 60
Points: 1,522, Level: 22
Points: 1,522, Level: 22 Points: 1,522, Level: 22 Points: 1,522, Level: 22
Level up: 22%, 78 Points needed
Level up: 22% Level up: 22% Level up: 22%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default

The code is not on the radio, you will have to get it from previous owner or the dealer. I went in and told the dealer I was getting the code for a shop (which I was) and they gave it to me without hassle. It took a bit but I eventually got it. Then I had to drive the car for a few days with it in safe mode, eventually it let me enter the code (I think I had to drive it 100 miles). Your best bet is to buddy up with someone at the dealer and they may be nice and get the code for you.
  #9  
Old 12-12-2009, 10:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Greenville, South Carolina
Posts: 96
Default

i drove to charlotte today w/ my car (100 miles each way). So i do not believe the "drive until it likes you" method will work. I leave for Michigan (From south carolina) next weekend so i need a radio by then. It hasnt been "asking for a code" yet. it just says safe.

Does anyone know this: Can you enter the code whenever? or will the display say "enter code"
  #10  
Old 12-13-2009, 12:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: ct
Posts: 60
Points: 1,522, Level: 22
Points: 1,522, Level: 22 Points: 1,522, Level: 22 Points: 1,522, Level: 22
Level up: 22%, 78 Points needed
Level up: 22% Level up: 22% Level up: 22%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default

You have to hold the rbts (or what ever the radio station id thing is called) for like 5 seconds and it will allow you to enter the code. I am positive there is a time/mileage wicket that has to be met before you can enter the code but I don't think it is more than 100 miles. I don't recall exactly because it was so long ago. I'll check my Bentley's in the morning if you still need (if it is even in there).
Old 12-13-2009, 12:26 AM
 
 
 
Reply


Tags
2000, 2001, 2002, 99, a3, a4, a6, audi, battery, code, disconnected, input, inputting, mode, radio, safe, start


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
New Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.
Internet Brands, Inc.
Emails Backup