replacing rear shocks - AudiForums.com
AudiForums.com

Go Back   AudiForums.com > Audi Models > Audi A6
Search

Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.



Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 06-05-2010, 05:29 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 16
Question replacing rear shocks

2000 A6 Quattro Avant 2.8l I need to replace the rear shocks and was wondering if a coil spring compressor is necessary. There is no mention of using one in the Bentley Manual. I heard a "thunk" coming from the rear and realized the bottom of the spring had dropped below the flange on the shock.......thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-06-2010, 08:49 PM
hxgaser's Avatar
3rd Gear

 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,973
Default

You need one.
__________________
2004 V70R M66 - Current
2001 A6 Avant - Past
2.8 ATQ, Quattro, Tiptronic
Mods - Was chipped, but not now... Was using K&N, but not now...
Repairs - Too many to list! And you wonder why I still drive an Audi So I don't drive one now.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-09-2010, 01:02 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 210
Default

You may want to replace the shock mounts while you are in there.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-09-2010, 05:21 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 16
Default

OK, thanks for the info....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-09-2010, 09:31 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4
Default Anyone know the torque specs for the upper shock nut?

I was replacing the rear shock and springs and when I started putting it together I was puzzled as to how much torque to put on the upper shock nut that holds the upper shock mount to the shock. I bought the kit from Blauparts and the nut is self locking. Do I tighten it all the way down to the end of the thread on the shock? Does it need some anti-sieze or thread locking compound? I looked in the DIY forum and searched here too but no one mentioned torque for the upper nut. Midniteoyl had a detail posting on replacing rear shocks on a 96 A6 with 22lb/ft torque. Wonder if that is the same for the 2000 A6 Quattro Avant. Any help or advance is appreciated. Thanks.

Last edited by kirkk; 10-09-2010 at 09:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-10-2010, 08:52 AM
2nd Gear
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Goodrich, Michigan
Posts: 1,430
Default

Run the nut down until it stops. You do not need a specific torque as you aren't streching the shock (ala a head bolt) you just want to hold the upper mount in place. No thread lock is needed as the nut has the nylon insert to self lock.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-11-2010, 09:52 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4
Default What is the sensor attached to rear driver side lower control arm?

Thanks Bob. I only managed to screw it down about a half inch from the top tread. I did not have a deep socket and I could not get the springs to compress any more. It will have to do and hopefully the nylon lock should hold the nut.

BTW as I was loosening the rear lower control arm on the driver's side there was a sensor of sorts attached to the arm. There isn't one on the passenger side. It looked like a level sensor and is mounted on the chassis with a two piece plastic arm that is jointed and bolted to the lower control arm. The sensor arm is really stiff and tight. If you know what it is, is the arm supposed to move freely? The picture is not very clear because the camera won't auto focus in the tight space.
Attached Thumbnails
replacing rear shocks-level-sensor.jpg   replacing rear shocks-sensor-arm.jpg  

Last edited by kirkk; 10-11-2010 at 10:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-19-2010, 01:44 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4
Default Looks like it might be the ride height sensor

I was searching the rest of the forum and googled the WWW and there are some postings that described such a sensor as the ride height sensor that controls the level of the headlights. I don't have the Allroad, just an A6 Avanat, so this does not adjust the suspension. Could someone who is familiar with such a sensor confirm or comment? I need to know if the joint for this sensor, as marked in my pics above, should be moving freely. It is very tight right now and I don't know if it is corrosion or if it was over tightened during a maint service. Thanks.
__________________
2000 A6 Avant
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-19-2010, 03:15 PM
2nd Gear
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Goodrich, Michigan
Posts: 1,430
Default

It's the headlight level ("range" in Audispeak) sensor, or one of two, to be precise. Clean up the contacts while you are in there.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-29-2010, 12:14 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks Bob. I will loosen it up and put some anti-seize so that it will continue to move freely.
__________________
2000 A6 Avant
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply


Tags
a4, a5, a6, arm, audi, coil, level, mounts, rear, replace, replacing, sensor, shock, shocks, spring, struts, tt, vehicle


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
98 Audi A4 1.8T Need Help Replacing Rear Shocks j3brother Audi A4 0 03-18-2015 03:20 PM
Something got loose after replacing rear shocks zippy_gg Audi A6 16 04-06-2010 08:16 PM
Replacing front shocks SloRide Audi A6 2 07-03-2009 12:14 AM
lowering w/o replacing shocks? S4evr S Car Model Line 10 10-30-2006 01:56 PM
Replacing rear shocks? 0fframp All Other Audi Models 3 12-05-2005 02:44 AM

 
Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:24 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.
Emails Backup