Fuel level Sensor or Cluster? - AudiForums.com
AudiForums.com

Go Back   AudiForums.com > Audi Models > Audi TT
Search

Audi TT The Audi TT line, in both the coupe and roadster combines Audi's All Wheel Drive performance with the feel of a European sports car.



Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 03-09-2011, 10:10 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
Default Fuel level Sensor or Cluster?

Hi,
I have a 2001 225hp TT. Yesterday when I started the car, the fuel gauge read empty and the low fuel light was on in the warning area. I had just filled the car earlier in the day. While driving the fuel gauge went to full and the warning light went off. Later, when I started the TT and drove the car the gauge read full and it appeared the "miles remaining" indicator read out was actually incrementing the miles left on the tank.
There are no other issues with the cluster, no missing pixels, no other gauges not functioning. I have read through the forum and signs from others problems seem to indicate the sending unit or the cluster.
What are your learned opinions? Would appreciate your thoughts. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-09-2011, 10:20 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location:
Posts: 210
Default

I actually have the same problem in my car. If its like my bmw we have 2 fuel level sensors unit sensors. One for each half of the gauge. When my car is empty it meets at the halfway mark so I'm assuming mine is the second sensor. Yours could be the first sensor. Like I said I'm assuming bc this is how my bmw is
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2011, 06:30 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Default

I'm also having the same problem with my 2000 180hp tt. The fuel guage always says full i called a few shops but they all said they would have to look at it before they could tell me what is wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-28-2011, 09:12 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Default

I may have the solution to your porblem. I read on a forum to get Chevron with techron fuel system cleaner. I put it in my tank and it fixed the problem. It was a problem with the fuel sensor. It has been 2 months and I have not had the problem with the gas guage again. Give it a try and let me know if it works.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-29-2011, 09:55 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
Default Update so far

I have added one can of the Techron into a tank of gas and ran it through the car. The gas gauge has stopped reading empty but I am a bit unsure of the accuracy of the gauge reading so I ran a tank of just gas.... and this morning I have added another can of Techron to a full tank. I will see what results are after this tank of gas! The good news is I no longer get the empty gas tank warning at all.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-29-2011, 12:42 PM
2nd Gear
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 568
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbibeau View Post
I have added one can of the Techron into a tank of gas and ran it through the car. The gas gauge has stopped reading empty but I am a bit unsure of the accuracy of the gauge reading so I ran a tank of just gas.... and this morning I have added another can of Techron to a full tank. I will see what results are after this tank of gas! The good news is I no longer get the empty gas tank warning at all.
Hopefully it does fix it though it never did the three times i had the same exact poblem.

1st - Replaced fuel sender
2nd - replaced cluster
3rd - replaced fuel sender again.

Fortunately all were under warranty or ext warranty.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-30-2014, 11:06 AM
Jeremyeccles's Avatar
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Default

Reviving an old thread because I found it first before I found a solution. In case anyone else ends up here looking for a solution to the issue of the fuel gauge always showing full here it is:

1. Pull the fuse for the fuel pump.
2. Turn the ignition key to on (without starting the car).
3. Turn the ignition off.
4. Put back the fuse for the fuel pump.

This will reset the computer, and you should have a fully functioning fuel gauge again.

For what it's worth, this happened to me when I accidentally pulled the fuel pump fuse instead of a different fuse that needed replacing. I put back the fuel pump fuse without turning the ignition on and off, and it somehow confused the computer responsible for reporting the fuel level.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-01-2015, 06:51 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1
Default

Thx for the fuse removal fix...worked like a charm
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-16-2015, 12:34 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 1
Default Fuel guage issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by tttri View Post
Thx for the fuse removal fix...worked like a charm
Which set of fuses? And where are they located?

Much Appreciated! I have the same issue with my MK1 2001 225 TT
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply


Tags
2001, audi, bmw, cluster, codes, forum, fuel, full, gas, gauge, level, low, sender, sensor, showing, tt


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
which fuel level sensor/sender is which? CryptoStorm Audi A4 0 05-10-2013 06:32 PM
fuel level sensor question whitey Audi A6 0 09-26-2010 12:18 PM
fuel level sensor question whitey Audi A6 0 09-25-2010 10:32 PM
fuel level sensor diy a4r6 B5 Models 1 02-28-2008 07:13 AM
Gauge Cluster or Fuel Sensor? randomloginname Audi TT 2 01-10-2007 09:03 PM

 
Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:06 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.
Emails Backup