B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

1996 A4 2.8 V6 oil pressure light

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2012, 03:56 PM
1st Gear
Default 1996 A4 2.8 V6 oil pressure light

So, I am new to Audis and to the forums. I have been looking over things for the past couple of days, and am seeing a LOT of information. Here's my situation:

I bought the car in December of 2011 with 143600 miles on it. When I bought the car, I had them check out all sorts of things. At the time there was a check engine light on, but no codes. They cleared the light and sold me the car. Everything else looked great - oil and engine were clean, interior is BEAUTIFUL, brakes are solid, tires still had wear left, etc.

Then last week the car started throwing up oil pressure lights randomly. I know it has a minor oil leak, but nothing that should be causing pressure issues. The first time it happened, I checked the oil and it was a little low, so I added some. The second time, the oil level was fine. It's the same issue others have been having - it'll be fine 100% at idle, throw a light when it hits 2500 RPM, then go off if I drive it for a little while and as long as the car stays warm, the light won't come back on. I may have added a little too much oil at one point, because one morning when it was fairly cold out I started the car to warm it up and came back out to a puddle of oil under the car right under the side of the oil pan. It hasn't happened again and the oil level is fine.