B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

2000 Audi a4 quattro 1.8t In Depth Timing Belt

Old 03-30-2017, 01:35 AM
1st Gear
Default 2000 Audi a4 quattro 1.8t In Depth Timing Belt

So this is my first time posting, I apologize if this is the wrong place to post or if this a repeat. I bought my buddy's audi recently. I did most of the work on it prior, so i know what needs to be done. I currently ripped out the interior and cleaned the S*** out of it and it looks great now. Point of the matter. I know it leaks lot of oil and the timing belt hasn't been replaced.

I know the valve cover leaks and i plan on doing that. Should i be changing the oil pan gasket too? Should i change the oil pump and or the gasket for it? Should i change the crankshaft gasket, not the seal, but theres a gasket down there that supposedly leaks around the front of the crank case?

I plan on changing the crankshaft seal and the cam shaft seals. What special tools do i need to do those? Locking pin for the crank? Do i need to lock the camshaft too?

Changing the valve cover gasket, should i change the chain and the tensioner? I bought the tool to remove tension so i can change the half moon in the rear.

Any help would be appreciated!!! I do currently have the timing belt exposed. I could take it off but i want to prepare myself for the journey beyond.

Old 03-30-2017, 02:18 AM
1st Gear

hi, friend, sorry to hear that, maybe you should replace the Seal ring, its broken would effect the leaking. hope it can help you.

Old 03-30-2017, 02:20 AM
1st Gear

Originally Posted by bonnie sacer
hi, friend, sorry to hear that, maybe you should replace the Seal ring, its broken would effect the leaking. hope it can help you.
I'll definitely be replacing the crankshaft seal. Do I absolutely need the locking pin to replace that seal though?

Old 03-30-2017, 12:46 PM
2nd Gear