B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

A4 2.8 P0300:Random Misfire after 60MPH

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2011, 01:26 AM
1st Gear
Default A4 2.8 P0300:Random Misfire after 60MPH

So I have been messing around with this car for the past 3 months it started off with a misfire in cylinders 1 and 5 which are on opposite sides of the engine.

I talked with my mechanic (this is the first Audi he has worked on) and he suggested it might be the coil if its the random misfire. So I went ahead and purchased the coil pack but did not install it. We checked with alldata and mitchell, as to what the resistance should be, the resistance that the new one was giving us against the old one the new one had a lower resistance than the new one and when it did misfire it did not feel like one where it shakes and shudders.

So we moved on and replaced the fuel filter, changed gas companies (according to what mitchell and alldata said), spark plug wires are new, spark plugs new, and speed sensor.

With the speed sensor we replaced it and it stopped doing it but after the car warmed up and was tuned off it would not turn back on so we put the old one back in and is working like before and turns on. Just today we replaced the fuel pressure regulator and we found out that the old one was broken(the filter inside was broken) but now its doing the misfire after slowing down coming down from 40 or 80MPH it will do the P0300 along with P0301, P0302, P0303.

We have been using an INNOVA 3160 Scanner which is suppose to help with the solutions on their database but it is not helping. I can post what INNOVA's website says if you guys would like.

Any other info that you guys may want to know just say so.

Really home someone might be able to help or suggest other things to look at.
Thanks

Old 11-29-2011, 08:13 PM
Administrator

Possible issues:

Coolant temp sensor
Improper plug gap (should be .032" - did you verify they all are gapped right?)
Primary O2 sensor issues