AudiForums.com

Go Back   AudiForums.com > Audi Models > Audi A4 > B5 Models
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Photos FAQ Members Parts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read ExperienceGarageUsed CarsVendor Directory
Search
Welcome to AudiForums.com

B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-12-2010, 10:53 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 41
Points: 3,429, Level: 36
Points: 3,429, Level: 36 Points: 3,429, Level: 36 Points: 3,429, Level: 36
Level up: 53%, 71 Points needed
Level up: 53% Level up: 53% Level up: 53%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default AC Problems and the AC Clutch Relay

Alrighty,

I figured i would post this to help any others.
First off attached are two pictures, both are the ac clutch relay in my 96 audi a4 2.8.
In the first picture Number 267 is the relay.

My AC blows cold if i give the compressor direct power. However if i hit the ac button in the cabin, the snowflake will show up then quickly disappear.

I believe i may have a bad ac relay.
If there are any questions or suggestions hit me back. I've heard people mention not enough freon, but mine blows cold, nice and cold when direct power is given to the ac compressor.

Thanks guys.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg acclutchrelay2.jpg (24.0 KB, 144 views)
File Type: jpg acclutchrelay1.jpg (15.3 KB, 100 views)
  #2  
Old 04-12-2010, 01:56 PM
2nd Gear
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,161
Points: 6,662, Level: 53
Points: 6,662, Level: 53 Points: 6,662, Level: 53 Points: 6,662, Level: 53
Level up: 56%, 88 Points needed
Level up: 56% Level up: 56% Level up: 56%
Daily Activity: 13.8%
Daily Activity: 13.8% Daily Activity: 13.8% Daily Activity: 13.8%
Default

Maybe the A/C trianary pressure switch located on the condedesner. You should use a VAG on A/C and see what it says.
__________________
Pre 99 1.8T
  #3  
Old 04-12-2010, 02:27 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 41
Points: 3,429, Level: 36
Points: 3,429, Level: 36 Points: 3,429, Level: 36 Points: 3,429, Level: 36
Level up: 53%, 71 Points needed
Level up: 53% Level up: 53% Level up: 53%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default

The vag didn't throw any codes relating to the AC. We also used the temp control unit to throw codes and that didn't help either.
  #4  
Old 04-12-2010, 02:35 PM
2nd Gear
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,161
Points: 6,662, Level: 53
Points: 6,662, Level: 53 Points: 6,662, Level: 53 Points: 6,662, Level: 53
Level up: 56%, 88 Points needed
Level up: 56% Level up: 56% Level up: 56%
Daily Activity: 13.8%
Daily Activity: 13.8% Daily Activity: 13.8% Daily Activity: 13.8%
Default

I would try shorting together the pressure switch, Im not sure of the pinout though.
__________________
Pre 99 1.8T
  #5  
Old 06-21-2010, 01:51 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 41
Points: 3,429, Level: 36
Points: 3,429, Level: 36 Points: 3,429, Level: 36 Points: 3,429, Level: 36
Level up: 53%, 71 Points needed
Level up: 53% Level up: 53% Level up: 53%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default

anyone have a pic of the A/C "Trianary" switch located behind the passenger light?

Or does anyone know how to bypass it?
  #6  
Old 06-22-2010, 10:58 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 41
Points: 3,429, Level: 36
Points: 3,429, Level: 36 Points: 3,429, Level: 36 Points: 3,429, Level: 36
Level up: 53%, 71 Points needed
Level up: 53% Level up: 53% Level up: 53%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default

The problem was my high side switch behind the passenger headlight was not connected.

So the people that diagnosed it as the Climate Control unit, created me another problem. Alas, all is good now Cold ac and a great working climate control unit.
  #7  
Old 06-25-2010, 09:54 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Default

I am having the same problem, do you have a pic of the trinary switch?
I have replaced the relay but still no a/c, this heat is going to kill me!!
  #8  
Old 06-28-2010, 07:47 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 41
Points: 3,429, Level: 36
Points: 3,429, Level: 36 Points: 3,429, Level: 36 Points: 3,429, Level: 36
Level up: 53%, 71 Points needed
Level up: 53% Level up: 53% Level up: 53%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default

you don't really need a pic of the trinary.
Just pull out your passenger headlight and its RIGHT there.
  #9  
Old 06-28-2010, 12:07 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Do you know if it is in the same place in a 1.8t as well?
  #10  
Old 06-28-2010, 12:24 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 41
Points: 3,429, Level: 36
Points: 3,429, Level: 36 Points: 3,429, Level: 36 Points: 3,429, Level: 36
Level up: 53%, 71 Points needed
Level up: 53% Level up: 53% Level up: 53%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default

No clue. Sorry
Old 06-28-2010, 12:24 PM
 
 
 
Reply


Tags
18t, a4, ac, air, audi, clutch, compressor, conditioner, located, pics, picture, pictures, problem, relay, switch, trianary


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
New Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.
Internet Brands, Inc.
Emails Backup