AudiForums.com

Go Back   AudiForums.com > Audi Models > Audi A4 > B5 Models
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

Welcome to Audi Forums!
Welcome to Audi Forums,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 07-28-2009, 09:32 PM
Junior Member

 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 23
Default Engine won't start after serpentine belt broke

I have a 1997 2.8 V6 and the serpentine belt (ac, alt, ps) shredded while going down the road at 40mph. Everything just shut down. I had the car towed home and replaced the belt, but now the car won't start -- it just cranks over. I can smell fuel (and there's 3/4 tank), so I'd assume an electrical/computer problem. I unhooked the battery for about 5 minutes to clear any "shutdown" codes that may have been in the computer, but it still won't start.

I've checked all the idlers and they rotate freely with no play and I've pried back the timing belt covers to inspect that belt and it looks fine as well with no cracking, etc.

Any reason it shouldn't start? Why did it just shut down when the belt broke? Most cars will run on battery power for awhile...

Help!!!
  #2  
Old 07-29-2009, 12:44 AM
hiwords's Avatar
5th Gear

 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: noob from NY
Posts: 7,730
Points: 7,965, Level: 60
Points: 7,965, Level: 60 Points: 7,965, Level: 60 Points: 7,965, Level: 60
Level up: 8%, 185 Points needed
Level up: 8% Level up: 8% Level up: 8%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Send a message via AIM to hiwords
Default

what does it do when you try to start it?
__________________
Project Albino Donkey

  #3  
Old 07-29-2009, 01:44 AM
Junior Member

 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 23
Default It just cranks...

It just cranks over and never seems to want to fire. Not even a sputter. It's like the ignition isn't firing.
  #4  
Old 07-29-2009, 02:20 AM
1st Gear

 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Default

did it mess up a lot of cables or anything when it came loose? The 2.8 v6 which is what i have is an interference engine if im not mistaken. if it is the serpentine belt coming loose will tare up the engine and cause damage to a number of components and probably be costly.
__________________
tyler
  #5  
Old 07-29-2009, 03:08 AM
Junior Member

 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 23
Default

This was the outer accessory drive belt -- NOT the timing belt.

I looked around and found no loose wires or damage in the belt path, but it sure shredded... The only thing I really see electrical that could have been damaged (but doesn't appear to be) is a thin 2 or 3 wire harness going to what looks like a temp sensor on the driver's side down low on the radiator. There just isn't much up front other than the fans.
  #6  
Old 07-29-2009, 05:32 PM
Junior Member

 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 23
Default

Update: if I let the car sit for several hours and try to crank it over, it will sputter for about a second and then it just keeps cranking with no signs of ignition.

Any thoughts on a seperate ignition system problem that coincidentally occured at the same time or may have been caused by the alternator shutting down? Like maybe a power surge taking out the ignition module? Any thought on how to test the ignition system since there is a shield around the end of the plug wire? (I usually put a nail or screw in the plug wire and see if it arcs to the block when I crank it over for a quick test...)

I wish I could swap out some ignition parts like the module, coils, etc., but at nearly $300 for the coils and about the same for the module... BTW, anyone know where the module is physically located?
  #7  
Old 07-29-2009, 06:24 PM
ghost6303's Avatar
3rd Gear
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: CT
Posts: 2,158
Default

follow the plug wires, one end is the spark plug, one end are the coil packs. they are no different then regular plug wires and you can test them the same way.
__________________
98.5A4TQM
  #8  
Old 07-30-2009, 03:29 AM
Junior Member

 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 23
Default

Well, I just did a quick and dirty test -- I pulled #4 plug and it was wet with gasoline and when the engine cranked over there was spark, albeit a weak looking one. The more I crank it over,the more I smell gas, so I know the fuel pump is working. I can't vouch for all the injectors or plugs firing, but it's something. The ignition module is probably good.

I will attempt to pull codes tomorrow if I can borrow a scan tool and I'll do a compression test to make sure the valves aren't bent to heck. Beyond that, I'm not sure what else I can do (checking cam timing is a bit out of my depth and it appears I have to pull the whole front end apart to do so). Can you even see a timing mark to check ignition timing?
  #9  
Old 07-30-2009, 10:50 AM
ghost6303's Avatar
3rd Gear
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: CT
Posts: 2,158
Default

have you pulled off the timing cover and checked that the belt is ok? there is a timing mark on the head that should be pretty easy to see, but the one on the crank pully might not be that easy to get to. the only reason you would have bent a valve would be if the timing belt snapped or it jumped a few teeth.

how many miles are on the plugs? did they look worn? gapped properly?
__________________
98.5A4TQM
  #10  
Old 07-30-2009, 08:19 PM
Junior Member

 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 23
Default

Well, thinking it may be flooded, I pulled all the plugs and blew out the bores with my air compressor. Plugs all looked good, evenly gapped, and no fouling or electrode degradation. Unfortunately, I pulled a bonehead move and broke the electrode off of one of the plug wires on the coil end.

The engine started and ran for about 4-5 seconds before shutting down again. It sounded like a diesel VW Rabbit, although I don't know if that's because it's now misfiring on #5 or because of valve interference.

It won't restart again. The local auto parts stores won't loan a code scanner and I really don't want to buy one for $70-200 to use one time. Anyone in the Elk Grove, CA area that has one? Is there a way to manually pull codes (GM cars you can short two pins and it flashes out the codes with the CEL)?
Old 07-30-2009, 08:19 PM
 
 
 
Reply


Tags
a8, adding, audi, belt, broke, damage, drive, exhaust, loosen, powers, serpentine, serpinteen, start, timing, wont


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
New Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Internet Brands, Inc.
Emails Backup