B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

Horrendous engine "rattle"

Old 09-17-2014, 08:38 PM
2nd Gear
Default Horrendous engine "rattle"

I can do a lot of body/interior work, but I'm a novice when it comes to the engine itself.

If anybody has any clues to where to start troubleshooting, it would be greatly appreciated. I have googled a bit but this seems like such a general problem, I dunno where to begin.

Maybe it's more of a "ticking"

Thanks a ton!

1999 Audi A4 Quattro 162k

Old 09-17-2014, 08:51 PM
2nd Gear

side note: it has a bit of a tendency to leak oil. not very fast but it does. it was also a bit low when I checked it just after I shot the video, again, not super low but it needed about a half-quart.

Old 09-17-2014, 10:07 PM
2nd Gear

That doesn't sound very good. Have you tried to narrow it down to a particular area in the engine bay? Front, back, driver or passenger side? Maybe try taking off the plastic engine covers to try and get a better feel for the location. Another thing you can do is touch a long handled screw driver to various points on the engine and hold the other end to your ear. You'll hear/feel the vibration change as you move it around the engine.

Old 09-18-2014, 12:06 AM
2nd Gear

From the brief time I was staring at it, it sounded like it was the top and front of the engine. Just behind the hood latch near the top. I will take a closer look with a screwdriver though and report back

Old 09-18-2014, 10:06 AM
2nd Gear

It could be the serpentine tensioner rattling or the bearing in the pulley has gone bad. Easy check is to loosen the belt and slip it off of one of the pulleys.

Old 09-18-2014, 09:10 PM
2nd Gear

Okay after closer inspection it seems like it's coming from directly (and I mean DIRECTLY) under the coil pack. In fact if you told me the coil pack (or something just beneath it) was notorious for having something come loose, I would buy a replacement with 99% certainty it would fix the problem.