Need help wiring radio, 2000 A4 - AudiForums.com
AudiForums.com

Go Back   AudiForums.com > Audi Models > Audi A4 > B5 Models
Search

B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...



Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 03-19-2010, 04:27 PM
Nevalite's Avatar
2nd Gear

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 540
Default Need help wiring radio, 2000 A4

Hey everyone,

I recently got my hands on a 2000 A4 1.8T. I am trying to install my radio but I seem to be having some wiring problems... I didn't buy the wiring harness thing because I never have used them in the past.

I took out the stock radio and I was just starting to attach all my wires when I noticed that the stock radio only had wires for the Front Right and Front Left speakers...

My diagram looks something like this:

Click the image to open in full size.


I thought that maybe the speakers were wired in parallel so I decided to just hook up the rear speakers to the corresponding front +/-, since thats all I had...

I started it all up and I'm only hearing sound from the front speakers, even after trying the fade.

How am I supposed to hook up the rear speakers to an aftermarket radio if there are only wires for the front speakers coming from the car?


Thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-19-2010, 06:46 PM
vgo vgo is offline
2nd Gear
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,002
Default

Hope this helps. just curious, what kinda radio you putting in?
Attached Thumbnails
Need help wiring radio, 2000 A4-bose-radio.jpg   Need help wiring radio, 2000 A4-concert-radio.jpg  
__________________
1999.5 Audi A4 2.8 - Quattro...the unfair advantage

Vmaxx Coilovers :: Stoptech SS Brake Lines :: Double DIN Swap :: 17" B7 RS4 Reps :: 30% Tint
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-19-2010, 09:53 PM
Nevalite's Avatar
2nd Gear

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 540
Default

I don't think I have either of those systems in my car...I know I don't have the BOSE because I have no amp or sub (stock) and I don't think I have the Concert system either... My stock radio was an Audi Symphony, the most basic version I think... Is that possible?

And the radio I'm putting in is an Alpine CDA-9883, just one from my old car, it will be there temporarily.

As you can see in the wiring diagram on my stock radio all I have is LF (Left front) and RF (right front)... I have no idea how to get those rear speakers working.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-19-2010, 10:16 PM
Nevalite's Avatar
2nd Gear

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 540
Default

After some searching I discovered that other people have been having the same problem. The solution would seem to be running new speaker wires from the rear to the front because the rear speakers in a non-bose system run off some sketchy passive set-up.

I had thought of doing this when they first weren't working and it looks like that is what I will have to do.

Has anybody else had to run speaker wires for their rear speakers in a non-bose system?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-19-2010, 10:24 PM
ImTheDevil's Avatar
Administrator

 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Binghamton, NY
Posts: 11,563
Send a message via Yahoo to ImTheDevil
Default

You have speaker-level outputs for the front speakers, so you can directly connect them to a new head unit. There is an amp for the rears - look at the bottom of the driver side rear speaker in the trunk and compare it to the passenger side - that box hanging off the driver speaker is the amp. If you put in new speakers in the back, run new wires. If you keep them, get the Metra preamp harness. It'll give you direct connections for the fronts and preamp connections for the rear so the OEM rear amp can be used with the aftermarket deck.
__________________


ImTheDevil / 2003 540i MSport (not stock) / 1999 A4 30vqm (not stock) / 2004 Honda Odyssey EX-L (stock)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-19-2010, 10:42 PM
Nevalite's Avatar
2nd Gear

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 540
Default

Yeah I took a look back there and I noticed that the driver side rear speaker had a small silver box attached to it, that is an amp!?

Is there any way to get into those wires without a wiring harness? There has to be a way, they must be connected in the front somewhere...

Looking at the OEM wiring diagram I am guessing that the Line-out section (RR, LR) is some sort of like 2v or 4v current that gets sent to the little amp attached to that speaker and then powers the 2 rear speakers, is that it?
__________________
ATW 2000 1.8T QM 5 Speed - H&R Sport Springs
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-19-2010, 10:50 PM
Nevalite's Avatar
2nd Gear

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 540
Default

Ok yeah I just checked it out and it's exactly that. All I have to do is hook up the RR/LR wires to my HUs pre-amp outputs with RCA wires (little ghetto mod) and I'll have to find the remote turn on for that little amp and hook it to my HUs remote turn on and everything should work nicely back there.
__________________
ATW 2000 1.8T QM 5 Speed - H&R Sport Springs
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-20-2010, 03:35 AM
Nevalite's Avatar
2nd Gear

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 540
Default

Does that make sense? Ghetto mod the line out wires into RCAs then hook them to my rear pre-amps on my HU and attach the remote wire to my HU remote wire... This should in theory power the rear speakers correct?
__________________
ATW 2000 1.8T QM 5 Speed - H&R Sport Springs
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-21-2010, 12:59 AM
Nevalite's Avatar
2nd Gear

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 540
Default

Has anybody else done this to get the rear speakers working without a pre-amp wiring harness?
__________________
ATW 2000 1.8T QM 5 Speed - H&R Sport Springs
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-22-2012, 04:12 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
Default

I'm having the same problem and I'm just wondering if you got your rear speakers and amp up and running like they should.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-25-2012, 01:55 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sparks/Reno, NV
Posts: 106
thugnizzle32
Default

I'm having a problem too, I know this is an old post but I'm using the metra harness and I don't know where the rca connections go. Do I only use two of them? If someone could please tell me how I get the rear speakers to work properly using this I would be very grateful
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-25-2012, 10:22 PM
Cybersombosis's Avatar
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Victoria, B.C. Canada
Posts: 124
Default

Have a read through this post

Rear Speakers/Amp not working after new HU
and this post
Aftermarket Head unit install problems

If you have specific questions after that, post them up. Good luck.

Doug
__________________
2001.5 Audi A4 1.8TQMS - Brilliant Black on Black Onyx Cloth
Motoza Stage 1+, Bosch EV14 550cc injectors, APR R1 Diverter Valve, Podi Boost Gauge in center vent pod, ATP Test Pipe, K&N air filter, HID fog upgrade, eBay short shifter, Center LCD retrofit, Aero wiper kit.
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply


Tags
2000, a4, aftermarket, amp, audi, diagram, harness, hooking, metra, radio, rear, speakers, symphony, turn, wires, wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with radio wiring KevinWatson Audi TT 0 08-16-2013 09:12 PM
Radio wiring brownrice B5 Models 2 08-31-2009 09:42 PM
Radio Wiring diesela4 Electronics 0 01-17-2008 04:35 PM
Radio Wiring Help drobrt Audi A4 2 12-27-2007 03:13 PM
Radio Wiring pauly Audi A4 4 05-26-2006 05:27 AM

 
Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:33 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.
Emails Backup