AudiForums.com

Go Back   AudiForums.com > Audi Models > Audi A4 > B5 Models
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Photos FAQ Members Parts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read ExperienceGarageUsed CarsVendor Directory
Search
Welcome to AudiForums.com

B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 07-10-2009, 03:38 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Waterloo, On
Posts: 5
Default Power antenna wire help

Hey, i swapped my deck from factory to my eclipse, and radio reception is absolutely horrible. I will get the station if im in the stations parking lot, but thats about it. So what ive heard is the wiring harness i got isnt quite right and my power antenna SHOULD be plugged in! IM in an 01 A4 and was wondering if its supposed to be getting power or no? I wont have a problem fixing that if it is supposed to be there. Anyone know if it should be powered?
  #2  
Old 07-10-2009, 07:31 PM
1st Gear

 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Naples, Italy
Posts: 224
Points: 3,954, Level: 40
Points: 3,954, Level: 40 Points: 3,954, Level: 40 Points: 3,954, Level: 40
Level up: 2%, 196 Points needed
Level up: 2% Level up: 2% Level up: 2%
Daily Activity: 2.0%
Daily Activity: 2.0% Daily Activity: 2.0% Daily Activity: 2.0%
Default

There are three different antenna connectors for Audi. What year model and type of stock stereo did you have in it.
__________________

'04 S4
'00 A4 - GIAC, Airbox mod, 710N, RSR
'93 90CS Sold
  #3  
Old 07-11-2009, 02:53 AM
ghost6303's Avatar
3rd Gear
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: CT
Posts: 2,158
Default

did you put a stock eclipse radio into your audi or you put your stock audi radio into your eclipse?
__________________
98.5A4TQM
  #4  
Old 07-11-2009, 05:56 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Waterloo, On
Posts: 5
Default

eclipse is a brand of aftermarket radio aimed at sound quality. It is in the audil. I had the symphony 2 system. Alll i need to know is if it is suposed to be powered. .
  #5  
Old 07-11-2009, 05:57 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Waterloo, On
Posts: 5
Default

BTW i have the antenna adaptor plugged in. im just asking about the power antenna wire that all aftermarket decks have coming from the back of them.
  #6  
Old 07-11-2009, 09:14 AM
ImTheDevil's Avatar
Administrator

 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Binghamton, NY
Posts: 11,460
Points: 16,660, Level: 82
Points: 16,660, Level: 82 Points: 16,660, Level: 82 Points: 16,660, Level: 82
Level up: 62%, 190 Points needed
Level up: 62% Level up: 62% Level up: 62%
Daily Activity: 100.0%
Daily Activity: 100.0% Daily Activity: 100.0% Daily Activity: 100.0%
Send a message via Yahoo to ImTheDevil
Default

You shouldn't need that. The signal in is through the larger cable that you plugged in. The remote 5V antenna wire (blue or blue/white on the aftermarket decks) is a motor trigger to extend a power antenna if the vehicle has one - it has nothing to do with signal reception.
__________________


ImTheDevil / 2003 540i MSport (not stock) / 1999 A4 30vqm (not stock)
  #7  
Old 07-12-2009, 01:15 PM
1st Gear

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: pittsburgh,Pa
Posts: 66
Default power ant. wire???

the wire on the back of your eclipse is a remote power wire. I should be blue in color. that wire may say power ant wire on it but all it does is turn power on to the ant. motor when the radio is turned on. most people i know use this wire to turn on an auxilary amp. It is commonly called a remote wire
  #8  
Old 07-12-2009, 01:56 PM
1st Gear

 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Naples, Italy
Posts: 224
Points: 3,954, Level: 40
Points: 3,954, Level: 40 Points: 3,954, Level: 40 Points: 3,954, Level: 40
Level up: 2%, 196 Points needed
Level up: 2% Level up: 2% Level up: 2%
Daily Activity: 2.0%
Daily Activity: 2.0% Daily Activity: 2.0% Daily Activity: 2.0%
Default

The antenna adapter should have a blue wire coming out of it that has to be hooked up. Otherwise its not gonna work.
__________________

'04 S4
'00 A4 - GIAC, Airbox mod, 710N, RSR
'93 90CS Sold
  #9  
Old 07-14-2009, 05:41 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Waterloo, On
Posts: 5
Default

Hmmm, so i am guessing i have the wrong antenna adaptor then! awesome. Thanks guys!
  #10  
Old 07-14-2009, 08:28 AM
1st Gear

 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lakeland FL
Posts: 119
Points: 2,488, Level: 30
Points: 2,488, Level: 30 Points: 2,488, Level: 30 Points: 2,488, Level: 30
Level up: 26%, 112 Points needed
Level up: 26% Level up: 26% Level up: 26%
Daily Activity: 1.9%
Daily Activity: 1.9% Daily Activity: 1.9% Daily Activity: 1.9%
Default

I changed my Bose Symphony stock headunit to a pioneer and mine did the same thing, i just took the blue antenna wire comming from the car side and hooked it up to the key switch wire. this still didn't solve the problem so i pulled every fuse labeled radio or ant. counted to ten and that fixed it. i guess that rear window antenna module needed a reset.
__________________
2001 A4 1.8T Quattro
Old 07-14-2009, 08:28 AM
 
 
 
Reply


Tags
1999, 2001, 2006, a4, adapter, aftermarket, antenna, audi, b5, blue, color, connection, power, stereo, thepower, wire, wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
New Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.
Internet Brands, Inc.
Emails Backup