B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

speedometer and odometer not working please help.....

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2010, 01:12 PM
1st Gear
Default speedometer and odometer not working please help.....

replaced my vss still not working and now i am gonna trace the wires to the e.c.m. I will keep everyone posted if anyone else has some suggestions please provide them. my car is a 1996 audi a4 quattro v6 manual tranny i am a first time owner.

Old 11-09-2010, 11:14 PM
1st Gear

Got the same problem on a 96 A4 auto. I had a JS recall on the ignition that was never taken care of. I got it swapped out but it didn't fix the problem. Does your ever work. Mine will once in a while. Seems to work more now that it's getting colder. No one on this site has had any valuable input or any for that matter. I'm new to Audi as well and love the car. Let me know what you find out. My next step is checking the grounds.

Old 02-23-2011, 10:57 PM
1st Gear
Unhappy

I have the same problem, here's what I have so far:

1. Like you my speedo works more frequently when its cold out.
2. Wenever it does not work, the tach does not either
3. when ignition is turned off,speedo does not go to zero after pulsating

What I have found out is whenever ignition is turned on the tach waits for a signal from the speedo that it is at zero. If the speedo is not at zero the tach will not recieve the signal hence no tach at startup.

I too have not been able to find anything here on this. I have found valuable info on the VW forums however.

Old 03-17-2011, 11:54 PM
1st Gear

Well, not to be rude but, my speedo always gos to, or is at zero, when the tach and speedo don't work. I will say that my tach doesn't always go back to zero. I wonder if its a connection issue in the back of the cluster? I'll check it out and post. Also it could be that the ignition connection are dirty, although I doubt that but will check and update. Thanks for responding.

Old 03-23-2011, 12:41 PM