AudiForums.com

Go Back   AudiForums.com > Audi Models > Audi A4 > B5 Models
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Photos FAQ Members Parts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read ExperienceGarageUsed CarsVendors TSBs
Search
Welcome to AudiForums.com

B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-29-2008, 05:30 PM
K1196A's Avatar
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Harrisburg, PA.
Posts: 129
Points: 6,108, Level: 50
Points: 6,108, Level: 50 Points: 6,108, Level: 50 Points: 6,108, Level: 50
Level up: 79%, 42 Points needed
Level up: 79% Level up: 79% Level up: 79%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default VAG-TACHO-USB drivers

Guys I bought a cable for vag-com off ebay from chiltonsonedemand and they sent me a vag-tacho-usb cable instead. i have the vag-tacho software, but can't get it to recognize the dongle.

anybody get it to work?
__________________
'07 A4 2.0T Quattro... still thinking about mods.
  #2  
Old 04-29-2008, 05:38 PM
chaos92287's Avatar
5th Gear
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 8,361
Send a message via AIM to chaos92287
Default RE: VAG-TACHO-USB drivers

wtf is vag tacho?

if your talking about getting the software to recognize the usb port as a com port you have to use the device manager and switchthe usb to an unused com port
__________________

NOOBS CLICK HERE
BT YOUR A4
  #3  
Old 04-29-2008, 06:21 PM
K1196A's Avatar
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Harrisburg, PA.
Posts: 129
Points: 6,108, Level: 50
Points: 6,108, Level: 50 Points: 6,108, Level: 50 Points: 6,108, Level: 50
Level up: 79%, 42 Points needed
Level up: 79% Level up: 79% Level up: 79%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default RE: VAG-TACHO-USB drivers

odometer.

got it to run on a 32 bit system (i have vista 64). didn't change anything, just tested it.
__________________
'07 A4 2.0T Quattro... still thinking about mods.
  #4  
Old 04-30-2008, 09:50 AM
Redrum1's Avatar
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Indiana, Pennsylvania
Posts: 279
Points: 5,439, Level: 47
Points: 5,439, Level: 47 Points: 5,439, Level: 47 Points: 5,439, Level: 47
Level up: 45%, 111 Points needed
Level up: 45% Level up: 45% Level up: 45%
Daily Activity: 4.5%
Daily Activity: 4.5% Daily Activity: 4.5% Daily Activity: 4.5%
Default RE: VAG-TACHO-USB drivers

I know some people have had problems with these cables sold on Ebay and no matter what they tried they couldn't get them to work. There is one seller named alpha-bid on there and his cables work with Vag Com just fine.
__________________
2002 A6 3.0L 30V Quattro Avant Auto
2003 Nissan 350Z Enthusiast Model 6 Speed Manual
2013 Dodge Ram 1500 Express Quad Cab Hemi 6 Speed Auto 3:55 LSD 20" Rubber
  #5  
Old 04-30-2008, 09:52 AM
K1196A's Avatar
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Harrisburg, PA.
Posts: 129
Points: 6,108, Level: 50
Points: 6,108, Level: 50 Points: 6,108, Level: 50 Points: 6,108, Level: 50
Level up: 79%, 42 Points needed
Level up: 79% Level up: 79% Level up: 79%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default RE: VAG-TACHO-USB drivers

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Redrum1

I know some people have had problems with these cables sold on Ebay and no matter what they tried they couldn't get them to work. There is one seller named alpha-bid on there and his cables work with Vag Com just fine.
Good -- i just ordered a vag-com cable from him on Saturday!
__________________
'07 A4 2.0T Quattro... still thinking about mods.
  #6  
Old 04-30-2008, 10:13 AM
chaos92287's Avatar
5th Gear
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 8,361
Send a message via AIM to chaos92287
Default RE: VAG-TACHO-USB drivers

thats the same guy i bought mine from. if you get the usb version your gona have to have a little bit of computer knowledge to get it to work right. if i could go back, i'd get the serial port version instead just to keep it simpler
__________________

NOOBS CLICK HERE
BT YOUR A4
  #7  
Old 04-30-2008, 09:24 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location:
Posts: 107
Send a message via AIM to Texas_Pete
Default RE: VAG-TACHO-USB drivers

I keep getting this stupid error everytime I try to vag my whip.... It's like " BLA BLA BLA 'memory could no be 'read'...Then there's two options to either"terminate" or "debug" both shut down the program... I'm using ross-tech.. Any ideas on this one?
__________________
| Projectors |LED Tail's| Debadged | K&N Cold Air | 13w7 & 1000/1v2 | HID's | 20% tint |18' ASA
Ayo'Fa'Sho 12v
  #8  
Old 05-01-2008, 04:47 PM
K1196A's Avatar
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Harrisburg, PA.
Posts: 129
Points: 6,108, Level: 50
Points: 6,108, Level: 50 Points: 6,108, Level: 50 Points: 6,108, Level: 50
Level up: 79%, 42 Points needed
Level up: 79% Level up: 79% Level up: 79%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default RE: VAG-TACHO-USB drivers

well, hmmm! i had tested this app on my wife's laptop because she has XP on it and mine is vista and it worked fine first try. today i installed a virtual machine setup on my vista laptop and it wouldn't recognize the cable. i tried several things and it was a no go. i decided to plug it back into my wife's system to verify the driver install and then it wouldn't work there either. weird........
__________________
'07 A4 2.0T Quattro... still thinking about mods.
  #9  
Old 05-01-2008, 05:08 PM
chaos92287's Avatar
5th Gear
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 8,361
Send a message via AIM to chaos92287
Default RE: VAG-TACHO-USB drivers

so you tried it on hers and it worked, it wouldn't work with your vista, and then you tried it again on your wifes computer again and it didn't work?

did you plug it into the same usb drive as last time? when you plug it into a different usb port (like on mine, there are 2 right next to eachother) it will use a different COM port. so unless you use the same usb port, it will keep switching the COM port back to the default one

texas_pete- dont know on that one, whats the exact message its giving you? what does it say when you test the COM port?
__________________

NOOBS CLICK HERE
BT YOUR A4
  #10  
Old 05-01-2008, 06:53 PM
K1196A's Avatar
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Harrisburg, PA.
Posts: 129
Points: 6,108, Level: 50
Points: 6,108, Level: 50 Points: 6,108, Level: 50 Points: 6,108, Level: 50
Level up: 79%, 42 Points needed
Level up: 79% Level up: 79% Level up: 79%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default RE: VAG-TACHO-USB drivers

correct. same port -- just flaky software/plug combo. don't know -- don't really need it anyway -- it just bugs me it's not working.
__________________
'07 A4 2.0T Quattro... still thinking about mods.
Old 05-01-2008, 06:53 PM
 
 
 
Reply


Tags
64, 64bit, alphabid, bit, cable, driver, drivers, install, tacho, tool, usb, vag, vagcom, vagtacho, vista


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
New Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.
Internet Brands, Inc.
Emails Backup