B6 Models Please discuss all 2002 - 2005 B6 A4 topics here...

2004 A4 1.8T Quattro suspicious leak and timing belt

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2016, 03:34 PM
1st Gear
Default 2004 A4 1.8T Quattro suspicious leak and timing belt

I just bought a 2004 A4 1.8T Quattro with 53,000 miles. I was doing some work on the wheels when I noticed some fluid stained my drive way. It's coming from the front and center of the vehicle, it looks like oil but it could be coolant,

I can't really tell. I took my car to my local Audi dealer they said that the timing belt had some wear in it and I needed to fix that ASAP, and that there was something with a gasket and the water pump (which is why Idk if it's coolant or oil). They said the fixes were just recommendations aside from the timing belt.

I've owned a few A4's in my time so Im used to fixing things, but right now Audi priced it at around $2k USD. I'm a disabled combat veteran (Marine Corps) who can't work so obviously Im not made of money, my question is

1. Should I just buy the timing belt and bring it to Audi or a local mech to save myself money, I'm pretty sure it was like $200 on ECS

2. How serious is the leaking fluid? Honestly the spot is only about the size of my fist and I've read this is a relatively minor issue, my last A4 was an 08 and burned oil like MF I used to have to quart up ever 1.5 months, not a big deal. Any suggests, tips, tricks DIY's?

I attached some pics because she's a really nice looking car, I did all of the exterior customs myself

Attached Thumbnails 2004 A4 1.8T Quattro suspicious leak and timing belt-img_8395.jpg   2004 A4 1.8T Quattro suspicious leak and timing belt-img_8396.jpg  
Old 08-08-2016, 08:48 AM
1st Gear