AudiForums.com

Go Back   AudiForums.com > Audi Models > Audi A4 > B6 Models
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Photos FAQ Members Parts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read ExperienceGarageUsed CarsVendors TSBs
Search
Welcome to AudiForums.com

B6 Models Please discuss all 2002 - 2005 B6 A4 topics here...

Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 07-13-2010, 06:55 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Default Audi A4 Homelink problem

Hi everyone,

I have a strange problem with my visor homelink system on my 2004 Audi A4. I recently bought this vehicle used and programmed it to work with my Linear garage door opener. It has a rolling code and I was able to program it without any problems.

However, the issue I am having is that if I press the button on the visor, and I am in the garage, I can open and close the door without any problems. When I move the car outside the garage door and press the button on the visor to close the garage door, it works. However, when I press the button again to open it, it does not work. Even if I am 2 inches away from the garage door and try opening it, it does not work.

Does the system need a clear line of sight to work? I would think not since that would mean that you can only use it to close the door, not open it. I have tried programming it 3 times, once with the car outside the garage, but I get the same results.

Can someone help??
  #2  
Old 07-13-2010, 10:25 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Called Audi dealer and they had no idea whats going on. Is it a signal strength issue?

Last edited by agm1101; 08-05-2010 at 10:59 AM.
  #3  
Old 07-14-2010, 10:47 AM
olstyn's Avatar
1st Gear

 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 440
Points: 3,566, Level: 37
Points: 3,566, Level: 37 Points: 3,566, Level: 37 Points: 3,566, Level: 37
Level up: 44%, 84 Points needed
Level up: 44% Level up: 44% Level up: 44%
Daily Activity: 2.6%
Daily Activity: 2.6% Daily Activity: 2.6% Daily Activity: 2.6%
Default

Mine opens my garage door from 30+ feet away, so it *shouldn't* be a signal strength issue. Is there something in the area that could be causing electromagnetic interference?
__________________
Gray '02 A4 1.8T Quattro - Podi boost gauge, other mods on the "eventually" timescale...
  #4  
Old 07-14-2010, 01:57 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Default

As I mentioned, my other original remotes work without any issues. So I doubt it is any kind of electromagnetic interference.

Any other suggestions?
  #5  
Old 08-05-2010, 10:59 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Really frustrated about this. Right now, I can only use it to close a door, not open it. I tried to program the homelink to a friends garage and have exactly the same problem.

Is there a way to increase the signal strength on the transceiver?
  #6  
Old 08-27-2010, 05:16 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Finally figured out that with my A/C off, and having the car about 5 ft from garage, it works!!! So apparently, having the A/C on is somehow interfering with the homelink, signal wise or in some other way.

Can anyone shed any light on this and suggest some things I can do to increase the effectiveness of the homelink?
  #7  
Old 11-23-2010, 03:14 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
Points: 3,313, Level: 35
Points: 3,313, Level: 35 Points: 3,313, Level: 35 Points: 3,313, Level: 35
Level up: 76%, 37 Points needed
Level up: 76% Level up: 76% Level up: 76%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Send a message via AIM to NothingBUTasian Send a message via MSN to NothingBUTasian
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by agm1101 View Post
Finally figured out that with my A/C off, and having the car about 5 ft from garage, it works!!! So apparently, having the A/C on is somehow interfering with the homelink, signal wise or in some other way.

Can anyone shed any light on this and suggest some things I can do to increase the effectiveness of the homelink?
I have this issue as well...exact same thing. I'm going to try turning the AC off and see if it works. Let me know if there is anything else we can do. This should not be working like this.

Joshua
  #8  
Old 11-24-2010, 08:26 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Well, I don't know what happened, but now it works on and off, but mostly works. I have to be really close to the garage door - about 3 ft away for it to work, but it does work 90% of the time. A/C doesn't seem to have anything to do with it, it seems. Oh well, if anyone finds any reason why it happens, would be nice to know.
Old 11-24-2010, 08:26 AM
 
 
 
Reply


Tags
2002, 2004, a4, audi, audiforums, b6, diy, door, garage, homelink, linear, opener, rolling, setting, setup


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
New Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.
Internet Brands, Inc.
Emails Backup