B6 Models Please discuss all 2002 - 2005 B6 A4 topics here...

Catalytic Converter Replacement DIY???

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2008, 07:26 PM
Default Catalytic Converter Replacement DIY???

I'm very new to working on Audi's... I bought a 2003 1.8T Quattro 5spd a couple months ago. I'm now in need of a new catalytic converter...

I've searched and come up with nothing so far... is it possible to replace a converter on your own? If so, how hard is it?Or is it best to just have a muffler shop or dealership do the work? I've heard this can get expensive... so if I can do it myself I'd rather do it instead of taking it somewhere...

If I have to take it to a shop to have the work done, I want to have a full custom exhaust done. If I go this route, does anyone know the part numbers of the mufflers from Magnaflow or Borla that best fit the stock location?

Sorry if this is a dumb question... like I said, I'm new to Audi... but not to working on cars...

Thanks for any help...

Old 03-24-2008, 07:33 PM
Site Moderator
Default RE: Catalytic Converter Replacement DIY???

A 1.8T cat isn't too hard a job to tackle on your own, it may take some time though.
First up, buy yourself a can of PB blaster and let those bolts soak over night.
The top three bolts you can easilly get to by removing the air box, the bottom bolts you have to get from underneath the car, the bottom bolts have welded on flanges on most models so you won't need to counter hold it with a wrench.
Then just change it out.

Old 03-24-2008, 08:23 PM

Already have the PB Blaster... many uses when building my prostreet 72 Chevelle!!!

Just a couple more questions...

- Do I need to remove the exhaust system completely or just move it aside to be able to get the cat out from underneath? Or once all the bolts are out can I pull the cat out from above?

- Should I replace the O2 sensors when I replace the cat, or is that not necessary?