B6 Models Please discuss all 2002 - 2005 B6 A4 topics here...

poor gas milage after chip and injectors upgrade

Old 08-21-2011, 10:30 PM
1st Gear
Default poor gas milage after chip and injectors upgrade

I just got an awe exhaust chip injectors dv, and carbonio intake. The chip n dv were done on june 6. I just got the injectors n chip upgrade on aug 15 then i put the exhaust and intake on, on the 17th. Before the upgrades i used to get 400 miles (give or take my driving) on a tank. i just filled my tank n im at 1/2 tank and @ 150 miles, so im only going to get 300. is this normal? any help will be appreciated.

Old 08-22-2011, 06:26 AM
1st Gear

Two things come to mind..
You're probably gassing it all over the place, revving it out and whatnot, I know I would be. That's not really mpg friendly so a drop is to be expected.

Second, and this is purely speculative since I'm new to the Audi game, but with the Honda's I use to mod you would always have to reset the ecu after any upgrade. You've done your ecu mod 1st and hardware after that, so your ecu is running along saying wtf without a 'reset'.

I'm not saying pull the battery terminals because I don't know what that will do with Audi's, but definitely talk to whoever did your ecu for the next step. The problem is there, the ecu isn't 'self-learning' so those extra mods are throwing it off without a reset or retune.

Old 08-22-2011, 10:31 AM
1st Gear

To (hopefully) clarify what tthrock said, when you installed bigger injectors, unless you changed the ECU programming to account for that, the ECU doesn't know the injectors are bigger, and is therefore treating them as if they were stock. This means you're getting larger amounts of fuel all the time, not just at WOT/high boost, which of course means your fuel economy would suffer (plus you'd be running rich). I'd contact your tuner and see what they have to say.