AudiForums.com

Go Back   AudiForums.com > Audi Models > Audi A4 > B7 Models
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Photos FAQ Members Parts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read ExperienceGarageUsed CarsVendors TSBs
Search
Welcome to AudiForums.com

B7 Models Please discuss all 2005.5 - 2008 B7 A4 topics here...

Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 09-02-2011, 06:47 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 55
Points: 2,299, Level: 28
Points: 2,299, Level: 28 Points: 2,299, Level: 28 Points: 2,299, Level: 28
Level up: 99%, 1 Points needed
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Daily Activity: 1.4%
Daily Activity: 1.4% Daily Activity: 1.4% Daily Activity: 1.4%
Default Remote acces re-programing of used keys not possible for B7/07+?

Can anyone confirm that keys that have been previously programmed with B7/2007+ cars can have the remote control re-programmed?

I've heard rumors from some locksmiths that only FOBs programmed for B7/2005-06 can have the remote access re-programmed, while those FOBs that have been initially programmed with B7/2007-08 can no longer have the remote access re-programmed and you're stuck with using the key via the door...This doesn't make sense to me, as it's not like you're burning a CD-ROM, but should be able to reprogram & change the codes to any key if you have the original (also can't this be done via VAGCOM ?)

I've ordered some used FOBs with uncut blade and I want to make sure I will be able to re-program and use the remote.

Thx

Last edited by rockblock; 09-02-2011 at 09:27 PM.
  #2  
Old 09-02-2011, 11:05 PM
2nd Gear
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 547
Points: 5,731, Level: 48
Points: 5,731, Level: 48 Points: 5,731, Level: 48 Points: 5,731, Level: 48
Level up: 91%, 19 Points needed
Level up: 91% Level up: 91% Level up: 91%
Daily Activity: 5.9%
Daily Activity: 5.9% Daily Activity: 5.9% Daily Activity: 5.9%
Default

In the manual there should be the process on how to reprogram the fob, using the fob, ignition, and door lock. Otherwise the dealership can reprogram with their computer. It doesn't make sense that half of the B7 model years can't be reprogramed. Mine got scrambled after the dealer put in a new battery. They tried the procedure in the manual, and ended up hooking the car up to the computer and reprograming since it got so scrambled. Mine is an 06.
__________________
B7Night

2006 Black A4 quattro 2.0t FSI 6sd man

Last edited by B7Night; 09-03-2011 at 08:35 PM.
  #3  
Old 09-03-2011, 03:12 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 55
Points: 2,299, Level: 28
Points: 2,299, Level: 28 Points: 2,299, Level: 28 Points: 2,299, Level: 28
Level up: 99%, 1 Points needed
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Daily Activity: 1.4%
Daily Activity: 1.4% Daily Activity: 1.4% Daily Activity: 1.4%
Default

I agree, it doesn't make sense, but the locksmith got me a bit worried...I'm hoping someone with a B7/07+ that might have gone through this process can confirm that as long as the blades match, any remote can be programmed from one car to another
Old 09-03-2011, 03:12 PM
 
 
 
Reply


Tags
2007, a4, audi, b7, blade, coding, fob, key, program, programing, programminf, programming, remote, removal, reprogram


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
New Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.
Internet Brands, Inc.
Emails Backup