AudiForums.com

Go Back   AudiForums.com > Audi Tech > Computer & Fuel Systems
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Computer & Fuel Systems Talk about the computer, fuel systems and delivery, customization and more.

Welcome to Audi Forums!
Welcome to Audi Forums,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 06-05-2010, 01:47 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Default OBD can't connect, 2001 TT

Hello,


I have a 2001 Audi TT Quattro. For some reason the OBD reader cannot connect to the car, so no pass on emission test

Here's some information and stuff I tried:
- the car has the original BOSE radio working, and station info is displayed on the dashboard
- engine check light is not on, and I can run the diagnostics from the dashboard, which prints OK at the end
- I checked all the fuses on the side panel
- I cleaned the OBD connector with contact cleaner
- tried 3 different OBD readers (emission test computer, handheld OBD reader at shop, and I have a simple OBD reader), they all error out
- I checked the K-line voltage between pins 4+7, reads 0.18 volts
- I do not have a VAG-COM
- the car was not driven for over a year (due to new babies in the house), the battery was dead so I replaced it

What else can I do to diagnose/fix this problem? I've seen some posts suggesting cleaning radio/HVAC connections.

A mechanic suggested that some cars need to go through certain number of startup/warmup cycles before the OBD works, not sure if that applies.

Should I get a VAG-COM?


Thanks so much,
-lajos
  #2  
Old 08-03-2010, 11:19 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Points: 922, Level: 16
Points: 922, Level: 16 Points: 922, Level: 16 Points: 922, Level: 16
Level up: 22%, 78 Points needed
Level up: 22% Level up: 22% Level up: 22%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default

i have same problem, too. im thinking its about wiring... but i dunno how can i check it..
  #3  
Old 08-30-2010, 10:13 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Points: 1,256, Level: 19
Points: 1,256, Level: 19 Points: 1,256, Level: 19 Points: 1,256, Level: 19
Level up: 56%, 44 Points needed
Level up: 56% Level up: 56% Level up: 56%
Daily Activity: 1.2%
Daily Activity: 1.2% Daily Activity: 1.2% Daily Activity: 1.2%
Default

Did either of you have luck with this issue? I have having the exact same problem/symptoms.
  #4  
Old 08-31-2010, 10:33 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Default

I still have no solution. I got a vag-com, which can't connect to the car either.
  #5  
Old 09-01-2010, 08:28 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Points: 922, Level: 16
Points: 922, Level: 16 Points: 922, Level: 16 Points: 922, Level: 16
Level up: 22%, 78 Points needed
Level up: 22% Level up: 22% Level up: 22%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default

i found problem maybe your problem is same, too..
i had a superchips on my car and i cannot connect to car with superchips..
now i changed my eprom and put different one, now i can connect in a second
im sooo happy... do u have something like this on car ?
  #6  
Old 09-02-2010, 10:47 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Well, I'm not the first owner of the car, so it's possibility. Although this car has passed inspection since I got it (they need to connect to obd for smog), so I'm afraid I have a different issue.

But I'll check for superchip. Thanks for the tip!
  #7  
Old 04-01-2012, 07:50 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 13
Points: 69, Level: 1
Points: 69, Level: 1 Points: 69, Level: 1 Points: 69, Level: 1
Level up: 38%, 31 Points needed
Level up: 38% Level up: 38% Level up: 38%
Daily Activity: 9.5%
Daily Activity: 9.5% Daily Activity: 9.5% Daily Activity: 9.5%
Default

I assume by now you have resolved this issue or sold your vehicle :-) What did you find out.
  #8  
Old 04-02-2012, 10:56 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Points: 1,256, Level: 19
Points: 1,256, Level: 19 Points: 1,256, Level: 19 Points: 1,256, Level: 19
Level up: 56%, 44 Points needed
Level up: 56% Level up: 56% Level up: 56%
Daily Activity: 1.2%
Daily Activity: 1.2% Daily Activity: 1.2% Daily Activity: 1.2%
Default

Check your wiring on the OBD connector. I believe I had a wire/pin that was loose in the connector. You might want to use a continuity tester/wand for this.
Old 04-02-2012, 10:56 AM
 
 
 
Reply


Tags
2000, a4, a6, audi, car, communicate, connect, emissions, engine, line, obd, odb, scanner, tt, vagcom


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
New Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Internet Brands, Inc.
Emails Backup