Dealerships Review(s) of dealerships that sell or service Audi's

An Audi dealer tech venting

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2013, 10:06 PM
1st Gear
Default An Audi dealer tech venting

I've been an Audi tech since the fall of 2007 and finally have had it. Trying to deal with Audi (the company) and repair Audi's thoroughly, cleanly, right the first time and satisfy the customer while attempting to make a living just doesn't work. Doing warranty work on flat-rate is a guaranteed money loser. Last week, had to replace a 3.2L in an A4. Warranty pays 8.1 hrs. Remove, transfer (and clean) manifolds, brackets, etc, install the new engine, fill/bleed the cooling system, wash everything down, do a PROPER road test, run a scan to be sure there's no faults, prep and recrate the core engine, do the paperwork all for 8.1 hrs. I'm not a slouch or inept. Worked as fast as I could while still doing a good job and it took 14.5 hrs. So, that means I worked 6.4hrs FOR FREE. This is only an example, 99% of all warranty repairs are similar. We get a whopping 1 hr to diagnose, no matter what the concern. If it's a sporadic thing that requires a 20 mile road test on top of everything else, we get paid 1 hr. Anything over that hour , again we're working for free. It's impossible to make a living. Yeah I know what you're saying, whine, whine, whine. Well, why don't you be at work 42 hours a week and only get paid for 25-30 of them (or less)and see how you like it. The benefits suck on top of it all. The health insurance is useless (and I still get $43 a week deduction on my check for it), no dental even offered, and am making the same per booked flat-rape hour now as I was when I started. Almost makes the $50K of tools I've bought in the past 25 years worth having. Don't forget, tech's have to buy their own tools, they are NOT supplied by the employer (aside from Audi/VW mandatory special tools). When it's slow, it's even worse. Most people don't realize if we aren't working on a car, we'r