AudiForums.com

Go Back   AudiForums.com > Audi Tech > DIY - Do It Yourself
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

DIY - Do It Yourself Within you will find how-to's on many aspects of modding and caring for your ride as told by your fellow members.

Welcome to Audi Forums!
Welcome to Audi Forums,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 09-15-2009, 04:03 PM
Senior Member

 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Nation's oldest city, FL (screw you Jamestown)
Posts: 179
Default How to: Replace Audi A6 transmission range sensor / switch

EDIT: For some reason, I can't seem to get the images to load directly - maybe Flickr doesn't allow it?!? It gives you a link to "share" which is below, but if I put it in the image tags, nothing shows up - just a white space. So, I had to do it ghetto and just give a clickable link.

My car is an '02 quattro w/ the 3.0 & tip trans - I believe there is a similar (if not identical) switch on A4s, but I don't think CVT equipped cars will have it (nor manual ones). This write-up pertains to my particular car, but can probably be used as a guide for other engine combinations, A4s, etc.

I had to replace it b/c I was getting this code:

17090 - transmission range sensor (f125): Implausible signal
P0706 - 003 - mechanical failure - intermittent - MIL on

which was causing my trans to go into limp mode - VERY annoying. Anyway, here we go....

Tools needed:
6mm hex - range sensor harness clip bracket
8mm hex - trans bracket bolts
10mm socket - heat shield bolts
13mm socket - bottom outside mount bolts
15mm socket - bottom center mount bolt
17mm socket - lugnuts
17mm wrench - top of center mount bolt
T27 torx - range sensor bolts
various 1/4", 3/8" extensions & ratchets
Flex socket joints (swivel joints, elbow joints, whatever you want to call them)
zip ties & scissors or razor

The dealer needed my VIN# for part lookup, so there might be other variations of the switch. It ran me $230 w/ tax.

To start off, if you don't know where the switch is located, it is bolted to the driver's side of the transmission BEHIND the transmission mount. From underneath, you can just barely make it out - just look for the black wiring harness that is clamped alongside the transmission pan.

I drove my car up onto ramps b/c I find it easier to get a jack under it that way. You have to use a jack b/c you have to remove the driver's front tire. I then proceeded to jack the car up and support it w/ jackstands. I placed the jackstands on the "frame" and not the subframe b/c I later loosened the subframe (not yet though) in hopes of gaining a little more room - probably not necessary, but it worked a lil for me. Here is subframe bracket so you know what to avoid if you want to do the same (ignore the yellow substance - it's some sort of wax - there is a ton of it under my car for some reason - it's a southern car too)

http://www.flickr.com/photos/gonepos...7622378884442/

Once jacked up, take off the tire. I then placed my jack w/ a 2x4 under the transmission pan. There are probably better ways to do this, but it's just helping to support some weight - you still have motor mounts and other trans mount in place. I forgot to get a pic of this, but pretty self-explanatory.

You then take a 13mm socket to take out the outer two trans mount bolts from the bottom. Here's a pic of the bolts and you can also see the sensor's harness running along trans pan

http://www.flickr.com/photos/gonepos...7622378884442/

Then from above, remove the heat shield that surrounds the trans mount. There are three 10mm bolts that hold it on. Once that's out, use a 17mm wrench to hold the top of the center mount bolt and a 15mm socket for the nut underneath. Here's a pic of the bottom two heat shield bolts and top of the center mount bolt

http://www.flickr.com/photos/gonepos...7622378884442/

You can now take out the three 8mm hex bolts on the mount bracket. Here is a pic of the bracket so that you get an idea of the bolt locations (the 3 most outside bolt holes - the inner 3 are from the heat shield). The bottom two are obvious and very easy - the top one took me hours - LITERALLY!! It might be easy if you have smaller hands or can come up w/ a good extension / swivel socket combination. I used a cut-down hex w/ flex joint, 10" extension and another 3" extension and came in from the bottom back. I couldn't get it in from the wheelwell area - maybe you'll have better luck. The bolts also have loctite on them, so they'll all "pop" loose.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/gonepos...7622378884442/

If I were to do it all over again - I'd remove the driver's exhaust bank. It would take some extra time (and possibly hassle if your studs are seized), but it would afford a TON of room. Instead, I ended up cutting my hex bit down about 1/3"-1/2" for the extra room - ANY room you can gain is a HUGE help - it really is that awkward of a position. I also loosened the subframe at this time for extra room. I completely removed the small two bolts (on both sides of the car) and then loosened the large bolt (one on each side) enough for subframe to drop 1/3" or so - I'm not sure how long that bolt is, so I didn't want to overdo it.

Okay, if you've figured out a way to remove the bracket, you'll see the sensor. Remove the two T27 torx bolts and disconnect the harness at it's clip. Take note of how the little brackets that the harness clips in go on so that you can reinstall them properly. I also unbolted the bracket that holds the harness clip on - it's a 6mm hex - just made it easier to slide the clip out and put the new one in. You obviously have to cut the zip tie that holds harness. (In the pic, the section of the mount you see lifts right out so it's a clear shot for both bolts)

http://www.flickr.com/photos/gonepos...7622378884442/

You can now lightly pull STRAIGHT out on the sensor. Do not turn it b/c you don't want to turn the gear drive in the center. Mine easily came out. You are now ready for reinstall. Note the position of the gear drive and match your new sensor the same way. There is a little notch cut into it as seen here

http://www.flickr.com/photos/gonepostal/3923987470/

Everything goes back in the way it came out. The torque value for the sensor bolts is 8 ft/lbs. I'm not sure on the bracket bolts or mount bolts. I thoroughly cleaned the three 8mm bracket bolts and reapplied loctite. Also, don't forget that one zip tie for the harness.

Enjoy not having to accelerate from a traffic light in 3rd gear anymore!!!
__________________
2002 Audi A6 3.0 Quattro

Last edited by gone postal; 09-16-2009 at 09:12 PM.
  #2  
Old 09-16-2009, 01:55 AM
chefro's Avatar
3rd Gear

 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: IL
Posts: 1,941
Points: 7,883, Level: 59
Points: 7,883, Level: 59 Points: 7,883, Level: 59 Points: 7,883, Level: 59
Level up: 67%, 67 Points needed
Level up: 67% Level up: 67% Level up: 67%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default

nice write-up! Thanks.
Do you have by any chance the part # (as I think they all use the same type)?
If not, no problem. I can look mine up probably on vagcat.com.
__________________
'95 12V - 167,400 miles - engine rebuild + ps fluid and ATF change; switched to Mobil1Syn 0W-30 at 158,200; Purchased Dec. 2008 @ 152,100 miles - Presently 182,500 miles
  #3  
Old 09-16-2009, 09:07 PM
Senior Member

 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Nation's oldest city, FL (screw you Jamestown)
Posts: 179
Default

Mine is part # 01V-919-821-B

WorldImpex.com shows it as $183 - good company - I've ordered from them before. This was a last minute decision to tackle the job while I had the weekend off, so I didn't have time to order one and wait on shipping - local Audi dealer had it in stock & only $30 difference. Gotta throw them a bone every now and then - I've used them several times for part #s and then ordered online
__________________
2002 Audi A6 3.0 Quattro
  #4  
Old 09-16-2009, 09:16 PM
Senior Member

 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Nation's oldest city, FL (screw you Jamestown)
Posts: 179
Default

Also, I know there is a DIY section here, but not a single article in it - such a shame. The creator of that area also hasn't been online in almost 1.5yrs!! If an admin sees this thread, could you please add it to that forum? I think it would be great to really get that area going - I'm sure there a lots of people on this site that can contribute. I can do a write-up on the 3.0L timing belt too if needed - I took a ton of pics during mine.
__________________
2002 Audi A6 3.0 Quattro
  #5  
Old 09-16-2009, 11:37 PM
Jackmup's Avatar
2nd Gear
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 1,227
Points: 7,872, Level: 59
Points: 7,872, Level: 59 Points: 7,872, Level: 59 Points: 7,872, Level: 59
Level up: 61%, 78 Points needed
Level up: 61% Level up: 61% Level up: 61%
Daily Activity: 26.5%
Daily Activity: 26.5% Daily Activity: 26.5% Daily Activity: 26.5%
Default

That's because we're all hanging out over here. I hope I don't have to do that soon. But I'm printing this out and putting it in my 3" thick file.(I've only had the car 6 mos)

Try photobucket for the pictures. When I scroll over my photos it will give a drop down and I just copy and paste the address
__________________
02-A6 Quattro 3.0 Avant
00-A8 Quattro 4.2

Last edited by Jackmup; 09-16-2009 at 11:39 PM.
  #6  
Old 09-17-2009, 12:57 AM
auditech79's Avatar
Site Moderator

 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 9,004
Points: 13,191, Level: 74
Points: 13,191, Level: 74 Points: 13,191, Level: 74 Points: 13,191, Level: 74
Level up: 86%, 59 Points needed
Level up: 86% Level up: 86% Level up: 86%
Daily Activity: 5.6%
Daily Activity: 5.6% Daily Activity: 5.6% Daily Activity: 5.6%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gone postal View Post
Also, I know there is a DIY section here, but not a single article in it - such a shame. The creator of that area also hasn't been online in almost 1.5yrs!! If an admin sees this thread, could you please add it to that forum? I think it would be great to really get that area going - I'm sure there a lots of people on this site that can contribute. I can do a write-up on the 3.0L timing belt too if needed - I took a ton of pics during mine.
Good write up, there used to be a fairly large DIY section, but when we changed the site a year ago or so most of them were lost for some reason. I'll see if i can move it over to the DIY section for you.
__________________
99 Chevy Silverado Z71 6" rough country lift/W 35" tires, 4.10 gears, (4.56 soon) S&B CAI and a flowmaster super 44 exhaust.
"Never argue with a fool, they will lower you to their level and beat you with experience." My personal motto.
Old 09-17-2009, 12:57 AM
 
 
 
Reply


Tags
30, 42, a4, a6, audi, jack, motor, mount, o2, range, replace, replacing, sensor, subframe, switch, transmission


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
New Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:57 PM.


Internet Brands, Inc.
Emails Backup