Nitrous, Super Chargers, & Turbos All charged talk about going, and going FAST!

Loosing Boost, flutter sound

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2016, 07:03 PM
1st Gear
Default Loosing Boost, flutter sound

Hey guys im new to the audi scene, and im in need of some help. Recently i bought a 2004 audi a4 1.8t. It had the K04 installed and a front mount intercooler, bigger injectors the whole shibang. The guy i bought it from only owned it for 3 months and he dosent know if it was tuned or not. But anyways when i was heading home it ran perfect could feel and hear the turbo spooling and all, it was as clean as a whistle. After about 2-3 weeks after owning it, i noticed a lose in boost, it will go in and out. I can roll the window down and still hear it but it will spool then start fluttering. So i got kind of curious and popped the hood i couldnt help it but heard this loud whistle sound. Sounded like a vaccum leak but wasnt throwing up any codes. only place i could hear it coming from is the breather hose that goes from the suction jet pump to the intake manifold, I replaced it, but still the whistle (hissing) sound was there.

Any Advice would be much appreciated!

Thanks.

Old 08-29-2016, 11:58 AM

I suggest a boost leak test. This will help you determine whether or not you actually have an air leak, or if it's something else like bad diverter valve.

:: a4mods.com :: - The Premiere Audi A4 Modification Guide and Pictures Library

BTW your vacuum lines may look a little different than in that DIY, because Audi made several revisions to the B6 vacuum lines & emissions systems throughout the years.

Old 08-30-2016, 09:53 PM
1st Gear