Nitrous, Super Chargers, & Turbos All charged talk about going, and going FAST!

Turbo 4.2 abz v8

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2014, 12:10 AM
1st Gear
Default Turbo 4.2 abz v8

So I was searching around like every other Audi enthusiast does to see if the 4.2 v8, any variation of it could be turbod. Well i came across this video where a guy swapped a 4.2 abz from a old a8 into a c4 a6 and turbod it. Is this bullshit? could the work be replicated? Could the engine be built to handle more boost then he is running it at?

Old 03-19-2014, 08:09 PM
1st Gear

Hi MorePower37,
I am Vince from Germany.
I'm driving a turboed ABZ engine in my 1998 Audi S8.
It's my daily driver, and has been turbocharged since 2009. I've been owning the car since 2005 and have driven more than 50.000 miles turboed.
I did everything myself, so I'm pretty sure I can answer everything about turbocharging this engine.
I'ts a lot of work, especially package in the engine compartment is a huge problem. I did remove the engine 5 times till everything found place for the first shot, and another 6 times to get to places I couldn't reach to without removing the engine.

Now the facts: because it's my daily driver and as well reliability and gas mileage is also at least of some importance, right now this is my today's setup:
350 kW@4730 1/min
604 lb/ft @ 3891 1/min
1,1 bar / 16 PSI
370 lb/ft from 1000 1/min
2x KKK custom built turbocharger
APEXi AVC-R Boost Control
Snow Performance Water/Methanol injection
6-Speed Manual
Sachs Performance clutch
all gear ratios changed
axle ratio changed
diff-lock on rear axle (torsen limited slip diff, self made)
exhaust system selfmade: stainless steel from turbo manifold to tailpipe, including valve control for mufflers, 2x 200cpi cat. Shoots some flames in RevLimiter
20" 255/30 R20 on RH NAJ rims
Intercooler, preheating and tempcontrol valve for gearbox oil system added
Cylinder heads modified/polished
custom Air2Air intercooler (FMIC - front mounted intercooler)