Anyone have Pioneer AVIC-Z2 head unit? - AudiForums.com
AudiForums.com

Go Back   AudiForums.com > Audi Models > S Car Model Line
Search

S Car Model Line Audi S4, Audi S6, and Audi S8..Audi's track-ready touch on each of the popular sedans



Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 12-27-2007, 07:55 PM
yesss4's Avatar
2nd Gear
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location:
Posts: 573
Default Anyone have Pioneer AVIC-Z2 head unit?

Sorry for the multiple threads on the same topic, but I've got it narrowed down now. To those following the story, this basically started with amp/speaker replacement leading to poor quality from the stock Bose system. So now...

I'm looking to replace my B7 S4's head unit and the Pioneer AVIC-Z2 was suggested as the best bet. I want it to work with my steering wheel controls, use XM and Bluetooth, and most of all provide good sound quality.I already have JL amps, JL 10" suband Focal speakers, plus theAudioControl LC6 processor. Looking for feedback from anyone who has this, or a comparable unit.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-27-2007, 08:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 122
Default RE: Anyone have Pioneer AVIC-Z2 head unit?

well first off your current setup isn't workingto its full potential ( thats if your using your stock bose head unit ) for the reason that bose are 12ohm speakers and your focal componets are 4 ohms even if they are 3 way arrangements. that means your bose head unit is made for 12 ohm setup. as far as a after market head unit working with steering wheel controls , i posted some where before a link to a product that SHOULD work for you. the pick of the pioneer would be my choice as well, from my experience they are more user friendly then any other maker on the market and you can tune so much of the sound that it is crazy. i dont have this setup in my audi but if you get the avic for a head unit with your current speakers and subs i think you'll be pleased, i been doing car audio since 5th grade and was mecp certified but never renewed just so you know.
__________________
FIGGY
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-27-2007, 08:54 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 198
Send a message via AIM to ARIaudiS4
Default RE: Anyone have Pioneer AVIC-Z2 head unit?

alrigh yess4 finally logged back on audiforums.. well this is what i have in my car now.. I dont have a picture of the amps but they are the JL a1800 and the JL a4300... they are both mounted on the back right seat.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
Ignore the two satellite antennas on the dash. I moved them into the driver side A/C vent... their gone (hidden)
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.



I love my avic-z1... i wouldn't really go for the avic z2 becuase it is exactly the same as the z1 but just more points of interest... Theres no way that points of interest are worth the more money. i don't even use that....
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-28-2007, 02:00 AM
yesss4's Avatar
2nd Gear
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location:
Posts: 573
Default RE: Anyone have Pioneer AVIC-Z2 head unit?

Thanks for the input guys - very helpful. One last question, and this one is a reach, but...

Does the NAV link to the little panel behind the steering wheel? I'm really doubting it but worth asking anyway. I like being able to see the next direction by just glancing down.

Okay I lied, one more question. Can you copy MP3s directly off of a CD? That is, copy files to the CD and then copy them to the AVIC without making the CD playable. I don't have an iPod and can't see another way to get MP3s onto the hard drive.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-28-2007, 04:06 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 198
Send a message via AIM to ARIaudiS4
Default RE: Anyone have Pioneer AVIC-Z2 head unit?

no you cannot have the NAV link to the screen in back of the steering wheel... thats the problem,,, but for me the b5 its like a small 1/4 for audio and nothing just come up their... its not that tragic...

well you can have music on the cds. and they will record to the hard drive in the system. i mean you can just ptu the volume down and it will be recording haha. then later on without the cd in ... you just go to library and all the music will be there... by either album or artist.. or song.


Im very happy with the avic
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-28-2007, 11:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 122
Default RE: Anyone have Pioneer AVIC-Z2 head unit?

i want a avic but not sure if i a d3 or z2 yet.
__________________
FIGGY
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-30-2007, 10:05 PM
yesss4's Avatar
2nd Gear
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location:
Posts: 573
Default RE: Anyone have Pioneer AVIC-Z2 head unit?

Wow ARI that's a serious sub. Can you get your spare tire out? My shop could only fit in a 10" but it's nicely mounted to the side of the trunk so I still have some space in there. In any case, I'm getting the Z2 on Wednesday and I'll let you know how it goes. In the meantime, the hissing sound has been getting worse so I'm glad I decided to go with the new head unit.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-30-2007, 10:56 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 30
Default RE: Anyone have Pioneer AVIC-Z2 head unit?

Re copying MP3 to the HDD. No you can't. You can copy original CDs but not MP3s. No mute button and the XM traffic feature is worthless--you need to have the emergency brake on to view. Graphics are weak for the money. Z2 is way overpriced in my book.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-31-2007, 12:53 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 198
Send a message via AIM to ARIaudiS4
Default RE: Anyone have Pioneer AVIC-Z2 head unit?

dont get the d3 becuase there is no hidden cd slot and the gps is only on the disks not on the hard drive... if you want to listen to music you put the cd in but then if you want to use the gps you need to take the audio cd and put the gps cd in....... NOT GOOD cuase im a music lover... the only good thing about the d3 is the changing button colorss....

yeah yess4 i have extreme power with my setup i didn't really want to mount it in the car becuase i take it out when i do autocrossingg... I mounted the JL box on a bungee cord so if i need to change my wheels i can move the sub and pull the wheel out...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-31-2007, 12:55 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 198
Send a message via AIM to ARIaudiS4
Default RE: Anyone have Pioneer AVIC-Z2 head unit?

another thing is you never need the handbrake on... for my car i just have the handbrake wire grounded all the time and when i start my car i do the headlight hack... ( turn them on and off 1 second) and every protection is disabled. i can watch movies, traffic, telephone options.. while driving..
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-02-2008, 11:03 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location:
Posts: 38
Default RE: Anyone have Pioneer AVIC-Z2 head unit?

Quote:
ORIGINAL: ARIaudiS4

another thing is you never need the handbrake on... for my car i just have the handbrake wire grounded all the time and when i start my car i do the headlight hack... ( turn them on and off 1 second) and every protection is disabled. i can watch movies, traffic, telephone options.. while driving..
Im considering getting the avic-z1 for my B5 S4, was grounding the break wire the only thing you had to do?
__________________
2001.5 Nogaro Blue S4

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-03-2008, 12:57 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 198
Send a message via AIM to ARIaudiS4
Default RE: Anyone have Pioneer AVIC-Z2 head unit?

It depends on what version firmware the z1 has. I have the earliest model all i have to do is ground my parking wire and flash my headlights on start up..
AVIC HACKS
take a look at this website. it tells you how to do it.. I am thinking about getting the jumper box becuase flashing my headlights is kind of pissing me off
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-03-2008, 04:49 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location:
Posts: 270
Default RE: Anyone have Pioneer AVIC-Z2 head unit?

hey man your besdt bet is ultimate electronics if you have one they helped me out a toin with my s4, best buy sucks and ultimate can order you one even if they dont carry it. another thing is where did you get your wheels those are nice
__________________
2000 S4 silver 6 speed 5% tint all around, borla exhaust giac chip abd intake samco tbb turbo xs rfl bov and many more to come
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-07-2008, 04:26 AM
yesss4's Avatar
2nd Gear
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location:
Posts: 573
Default RE: Anyone have Pioneer AVIC-Z2 head unit?

Okay finally got my AVIC-Z2 installed. Very happy with it. Lots of features and it sounds great. The shop put in a software hack for me that bypasses all the safety crap so I can do anything without the e-brake on. It did cost me a bit but it's worth it since it's my commuter and I listen to it a couple hours a day.

Not sure if you were asking me about the wheels but I got them from tirerack.com. ASA ZR2s. I like ARI's - you know how much those weigh? I like mine but they're way too heavy (29 lbs).
__________________
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply


Tags
a4, audi, avic, avicz2, b7, controls, copy, head, hiss, mp3, pioneer, pionner, steering, unit, wheel, z2


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing a new Head Unit - Pioneer AVIC-X930BT --- Help!? Twan The Terrible Audi A4 6 12-30-2011 09:25 PM
FS: Brand New Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT & Pioneer AVIC Z2 @ Affordable Prices. bsfmart Misc Items for Sale 0 07-08-2010 10:43 AM
FS: Pioneer DVD/CD/NAVI/MP3 In Dash Head Unit (AVIC-N2) plus extras kristokes Misc Items for Sale 0 12-14-2006 01:00 PM
FS: Pioneer AVIC-N2 GPS/DVD Head Unit komodo9 Interior/Electrical/Stereo 4 01-23-2006 11:22 AM
Pioneer DEH-P560MP CD/MP3 Head Unit TooLow1.8T Interior/Electrical/Stereo 1 05-15-2005 03:45 PM

 
Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:06 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.
Emails Backup