Considering a used S8... what to consider?

Old 07-30-2014, 09:38 AM
1st Gear
Default Considering a used S8... what to consider?

Hi, folks!

I'm a long time Infiniti driver and my lease on my M37x is about up. I've always considered Audi when shopping but the leases on A6's were never that favorable.

As such, I'm used to the gadgetry in the Infiniti's (lane departure warning, automatic cruise control, reverse camera with guides, etc). I've had most of these since 2005 and have become quite used to them. The A8's are a son of a gun to find with these features, the there seems to be ample S8's out there on the secondhand market that are fully loaded and have these features.

That said, I am concerned about long-term reliability. Even though I personally plan to keep the vehicle for 2-3 years, since these are used European cars which have the stigma of lower reliability. Any notes that folks can share, I would appreciate.

Additionally, and perhaps most importantly, what are my options for an extended warranty? There's an S8 with about 55K miles that I've been eyeing for a few months. It's a 2007 model. (It's funny how I'm considering a seven year old car when my first vehicle was barely three years old when I bought it and it was a complete mess of sh*t with the power steering failing on the drive home, etc. Granted it was a mid-80's era MOPAR product, but still.)

Thanks, folks!

Old 07-31-2014, 05:07 PM
1st Gear

Dear God... nobody will offer an extended warranty for these things! Even Audi's own extended warranty won't cover it if it's out of factory warranty. Yikes! Regular A8's have warranties available for $6,000+... It was a nice dream, but I'm not paying 20% of the purchase price for a flipping warranty. Dang!

Old 08-01-2014, 09:22 AM
2nd Gear

check out carmax...i hear they write an excellent warranty on ANY car they sell,it's just a little costly.

Old 08-02-2014, 09:05 AM
1st Gear

Originally Posted by ilackav8