AudiForums.com

AudiForums.com (https://www.audiforums.com/forum/)
-   All Other Audi Models (https://www.audiforums.com/forum/all-other-audi-models-11/)
-   -   85 5000 Turbo NO START PLEASE HELP!!!! (https://www.audiforums.com/forum/all-other-audi-models-11/85-5000-turbo-no-start-please-help-1070/)

Stinky 03-08-2004 01:25 AM

85 5000 Turbo NO START PLEASE HELP!!!!

Well guys this is my first time here. This is my second 5000T I have owned. Would have liked a newer one but cant afford it.</P>

</P>

Here is my problem. The car has been working firn for the last 4 or 5 months. No real signs of anything funny. It has gone on numerous 2000+ km trips with no problems at all.</P>

</P>

Last week my wife was at the store and went to comoe home. And the car would not start. It cranked over just fine, It had TONS of gas going into the engine. (you could smell ito pretty strong) I just had no spark at all. Got out my manual and continued to test the coil, all the plug wires, and everythign else I could think of. IO finally got it started, so I went to the local auto store and figured a new cap and rotor was in order. I changed those and sure enough it still wouldnt start. So long story short, I have no idea what the problem is now. I will list what I have tested, and what I thjink it could be.</P>

</P>

1) I checked the ecu codes by holding the WOT throttle switch for 3 sec with the key on. It turned up a code 3000 rpm/no cel. Acording to the bookc thats the hal sensor. I checked it all out, and it seemd to be faulty. So I got a new (used) dist with a hal sensor on it that was tested good. On occasions when the car wont start I can loosen the dist clamp so I can twist it and rotate it violently, then sometimes start the car. Once it is running it usually works fine until I turn it off again. I have come to notice that if my tach doesnt bounce when I am crankming it then it just wo9nt start. But sometimes it still bounces but doesnt start.</P>

</P>