No heat at idle on Audi 90

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2006, 01:06 PM
1st Gear
Default No heat at idle on Audi 90

Although I am a nueb on this site I have been working with this car for over 2 years. I did a search and found a few similar problems but no solution. I will try to be brief.

Problem : No heat from vents at idle, increase rpm and heat blasts out. ..simple enough

Atempts at repair.

1 Repaced thermostat , water pump, and coolant, bled coolant umpteen times with no results.
2. Replace cap from coolant syatem, replace heater hoses from fire wall to engine ( what a freakin nightmare )
3. Actually removed entire dash and replaced heater core and checked flapper boxes, everything functioning correctly and new core installed. Same problem.
4. Bled coolant sytem again.
5. Used thermal laser and found that coolant temp going into core just not hot enough , increasd RPM and coolant line temp increased by about 20 degrees.
6. Engine gains and manintains normal temp on instrument panel. cAn actually indicate a lower temp on the highway and be blasting out the heat , and a higher temp while idling yet blow cold.
Checked head gasket for leaks, no pulsing at the expansion tank , engine runs strong, no coolant usage at all, and each time I bleed no air comes out.
7. Bled by overfilling expansion tank untill fluid came out of bleed hole , caped off bleed screw and returned expansion tank to normal level.

The Audi 90 has no heat control valve, just straight from the engine to the firewall.

Other than this problem the car is SOLID, but it is undrivable in Canadian winters in bumper to bumper traffic. Occupants will freeze to death. CAr has to be parked for half a year.

HAs anyone experianced or has a resolution to this or is this a design flaw to which ther is no resolution ?

Thanks in advance

PS since this is my first post thought I would atatch a pic. I have practically rebuilt this car from scratch and this is the only problem that eludes me.