Audi A3 The Audi A3 offers cutting edge engineering, performance, and luxury in one affordable package.

2008 A3, 3.2 DSG take-off lag hesitation

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2008, 05:09 PM
Default 2008 A3, 3.2 DSG take-off lag hesitation

Took my new A3 in for routine service and mentioned they should
check the tranny for take-off lag, lurch, hesitation from a dead
stop but ONLY when the car is at normal operating temperature.
It's bad enough to spill coffee in your lap or loose a race when
split seconds count.

Long story made short this is the 3rd time I've made mention of it
but this is the first time the dealer actually called me and CONFIRMED
there is a problem. Might be a temperature sensor or a fouled up
"hill assist" thing or something else, but they finally owned up to it
and intend to do something about it.

Hope this helps anyone out there experiencing the same problem.
Don't let the dealer tell you, "Ah, that's just how the DSG works."

Newbie here, so please don't slam me to hard for not doing 40 hours
of research before posting. All I could find on the topic was this:
https://www.audiforums.com/forum/sho...ght=hesitation

Old 08-06-2008, 09:54 PM
1st Gear

Amp - my experience is running on a stock setup the throttle response is pretty poor. I understand not everyone will chip there car but one major benefit of doing so is you can adjust the throttle response. The difference before and after for me was enormous and I know what you mean by the lag. What has the dealer said they are going to do for you?

Old 08-07-2008, 04:49 PM
Default 2008 A3, 3.2 DSG take-off lag hesitation

Originally Posted by Cain_1972
Amp - my experience is running on a stock setup the throttle response is pretty poor. I understand not everyone will chip there car but one major benefit of doing so is you can adjust the throttle response. The difference before and after for me was enormous and I know what you mean by the lag. What has the dealer said they are going to do for you?