Audi A3 The Audi A3 offers cutting edge engineering, performance, and luxury in one affordable package.

Audi NOOB: Need Advice on buying this A3!

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2010, 04:51 PM
Exclamation Audi NOOB: Need Advice on buying this A3!

Hi,

I'm new to Audi, I'm a truck guy and familiar with GM. Anyways I need a new DD and found this car.

2006 A3 w/ Premium Pkg
2.0T
Auto DSG

Dealer wants 14K (Asking Price) - I haven't even started to nego.

My questions to you guys

Is the 2.0T and A3 in general a good car to depend on for daily driving ( 75 miles commute ) just to work, plus errands and stuff on weekends.

Any weak mechanical parts i should worry or expect to break?

How is the maint, fairly DIY or do i have to take it to dealer all the time?

Do you guys recommend the car at all?

Is it pretty much an A4 with a hatchback?

Is that price reasonable or should i low ball them?

Any suggestions or tips are highly appreciated.

Thanks

be nice to the new guy

Old 03-25-2010, 12:02 PM
1st Gear

The A3 is a great car to drive. Comfortable with excellent gas mileage for the plentiful power, especially with the DSG transmission. The paddle shifters allow manual shifts whenever wanted, without having to move the lever first.

The A3 is essentially a VW GTI, built better. The GTI has a better standard equipment list, but the A3 is generally less prone to squeaks and rattles, and has a nicer interior. Also, the A3 insures as a "station wagon" so that cost is relatively low. They aren't the most reliable cars out there, but they're not horrible either. If you want more reliablility in a similar car, I'd suggest the Mazda3.

The Premium package you mentioned gives a better ride than the alternative Sport package but sits higher (taller, softer springs) and doesn't handle as crisply. The Premium driver's seat is power, but doesn't hold you like the Sports seats.