AudiForums.com

AudiForums.com (https://www.audiforums.com/forum/)
-   Audi A3 (https://www.audiforums.com/forum/audi-a3-12/)
-   -   Euro Audi A3 question (https://www.audiforums.com/forum/audi-a3-12/euro-audi-a3-question-80714/)

EuroScuby 11-06-2007 05:19 AM

Euro Audi A3 question

OK, I am new to the Audi. I live in Germany and drive a highly modified '04 Subaru STI. My STI went from a daily driver to a track car (I got addicted to the Nurburgring) and I am looking to pick up a new daily driver. I have noticed that American Audi does not advertise the A3 2-door on their website. Is it possible to buy a 2-door A3 in the states (out of curiousity)? My other question is selecting the motor. As I am new to the Audi or will be soon, I have no idea as to the potential of the available powertrains. I can see where the 2.0L Turbo has plenty of potential but I am not familiar with the 3.2L. Are there any modifications being done to the 3.2L (e.g Turbo kits etc...)? Thanks for any help you can offer.

BAMF 11-07-2007 03:42 AM

RE: Euro Audi A3 question

You are right - the A3 is only offered as a 4-door in the US. It's too bad, I really like the looks of the 2 door.

As far as engines go, the 2.0T is going to be much more economical to mod. I've seen a few kits marketed for the 3.2 that can make over 400hp, but they are ridiculously expensive (I think one of the kits I saw was $10k!) I haven't seen anyone on the forums who's put a turbo or supercharger on the 3.2, so I don't know anything about the quality of the kits. You can get a chip tune for the 3.2, but it's only like 10hp gain. I've seen plenty of Mk5 GTI's with big turbos on the 2.0T making over 300hp though.

EuroScuby 11-07-2007 08:33 AM

Thanks for your reply. I suppose I'll have to test drive both of them to figure out which I prefer. Which ever one I buy, I need to leave stock anyways to use as a daily driver and get my arse to modifications annonymous and get rid of this mod addiction.