Audi A3 The Audi A3 offers cutting edge engineering, performance, and luxury in one affordable package.

Impression of VF Cold Air Intake on 3.2 A3 with Revo/Miltek

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2008, 05:02 PM
1st Gear
Default Impression of VF Cold Air Intake on 3.2 A3 with Revo/Miltek

Thought I would add a post on the VF CAI as it seemed only a few have had it installed. First off let me say I am not an engineer or mechanic. That said my understanding of cold air intakes is that they benefit a naturally aspirated engine much the same way an aftermarket exhaust does. That is they help the engine breath more, and as an engine is essentially a pump, getting air in and out more efficiently adds power. I realize it is actually by the same means of increasing power, possible to lose torque depending upon what you do with the exhaust and how that effects backpressure, so I am talking in general terms here.

Now I have seen some threads on this forum where people have discussed the application of a CAI on a turbo setup. It seemed most felt a CAI on a turbo didn't make sense as the "cold air" just ends up getting reprocessed by the turbo. So for this review I am talking about the 3.2 Quattro engine on an 08 DSG A3.
The last piece of context I'll give is I modified a BMW 540 back in 99 through Dinan and went to stage 3 on everything including engine, breaks, suspension, limited slip diff etc. The car was a monster and blew away stock M5s on the track.

Anyway, the reason I bring this up is Dinan claimed the most important engine mod amongst the software, throttle body and other changes, was the Cold Air Intake. I did my mods in steps in each area to see and feel the difference and for sure adding the CAI was very noticeable.