Audi A3 The Audi A3 offers cutting edge engineering, performance, and luxury in one affordable package.

Strange Noise, Unsure What It Is?

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2006, 01:12 PM
Default Strange Noise, Unsure What It Is?

It's hard to explain, but it sounds like a propelling noise, not very loud, but loud enough to wind you up. It happens when you coast along without accelerating, sounds to be coming from front of the car. I'm not sure if its a front bearing, or something loose in the engine. Anyone have or had this problem? Any feedback is much appreciated. Cheers

Old 01-29-2007, 05:26 PM
Default RE: Strange Noise, Unsure What It Is?

I'm experiencing the exact same noise. Didn't happen when I bought it in August but it's revealed itself over the last few months. A roaring/propelling (good description..thanks) noise happening at any speed but you can hear it the most when it's coasting to a stop. I'm no expert but it does sound line a bearing. Have an appointment with the dealer next Monday Feb 5th, I'll report back what they say.

2006 A3

Old 02-03-2007, 02:30 PM
1st Gear

I think the problem is with the driver side seal on the windsheild. I noticed the same noise in the last 2 days and have traced it back to the bottom of the strip which is a little loose. I checked everything else to see if there was something that could make the noise.

Old 03-13-2007, 05:25 PM

Well the problem is fixed..so far.