Audi A4 The Audi A4 model offers nimble handling and performance that makes it one of the leading cars in its class. Read more about the Audi A4 in the Audi A4 review.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Low oil pressure/noise

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2009, 06:14 PM
Default Low oil pressure/noise

I am a GM guy working on an 2002 a4 avant, 1.8l , auto trans, for a friend. I have no experience with audi's, besides doing a little research the last several days. So I am a little ignorant to their problems or specific engine components. The problem started several months ago. Immediately after an oil change(audi filter with non synthetic 5w-20), driving on the freeway, he first had two hoses blow off on the left side of the motor under the intake causing oil to spray out(his mechanic called them vaccum lines. But what vaccum lines under the intake are full of oil??!!). He noticed smoke from the burning oil and the oil pressure lamp flashed. He took it to a mechanic who repaired the hoses and swapped out the oil and filter with unknown parts. He told him his hydraulic tensioner was failing and may completely fail at any time. He tried driving it one other time since and said his low oil pressure lamp came on and he heard noise from the engine. He said the mechanic couldn't explain to him the cause of the problems so he lost confidence in him. Thats where I came in. After a little research, I learned of the 1.8l engine sludging issues and related problems. I checked out the motor the other day- its starts and runs fine oil level is clean and full and no lights came on. I took it for a drive and after approx 30 minutes of run time, the oil pressure lamp started flashing and what sounded like upper engine noise,suspected lifter noise occurred. so I removed the valve cover and visually inspected- the top end looked rather clean, no signs of sludge or deposits found. I removed a majority of the cam caps and they all look good. I suspect the noise is either coming from lifters