Audi A4 The Audi A4 model offers nimble handling and performance that makes it one of the leading cars in its class. Read more about the Audi A4 in the Audi A4 review.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I need to change my thermostat

Old 12-09-2007, 03:09 PM
Default I need to change my thermostat

Ok, so I need to change the thermostat on my 97 a4 fwd I have searched and searched on here and have not found any good information on replacing it, If anybody has a link to a write up, let me know... I am a noob to this site but not to cars Ive been on honda tech forever and have been working on cars for awhile, I really would like to get a genral idea before I go work on the car and its in the garage with the heat on warming up, so help me out

Old 12-09-2007, 03:17 PM
5th Gear
Default RE: I need to change my thermostat

jack the car up, remove the belly pan, and unbolt the thermostat cover under the water pump

and you might as well replace the o-ring as well while changing the thermostat

Old 12-09-2007, 03:19 PM

Thank you so much, I've found alot of extremly vauge info thanks a lot

Old 12-09-2007, 03:20 PM
5th Gear

no prob

Old 12-09-2007, 03:35 PM
Tech Guru

i just ordered one from ecs, should be here laterr this week

Old 12-09-2007, 03:48 PM

I just got a thermostat and a seal from a local auto parts store, my car doesnt warm up I really hope it fixes it cause its cold in wisconsin, also got the g12 coolant everyone says to get and two gallons of distilled water...

Old 12-09-2007, 04:31 PM
2nd Gear

I'm waiting to see how this turns out. I know that my car won't warm up to center on the temp gauge as long as it is under like 45F outside. I've already replaced the coolant temp sensor but that didn't change things. I know with my AWM motor it has the internal waterpump which sounds like a pita to change out the thermostat.

Old 12-09-2007, 07:37 PM