Audi A4 The Audi A4 model offers nimble handling and performance that makes it one of the leading cars in its class. Read more about the Audi A4 in the Audi A4 review.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

signal lights problem

Old 09-16-2006, 03:45 AM
1st Gear
Default signal lights problem

first of all; HI to the evrybody.. this is the first time I'm writing and I'm a new audi driver...

I have a 99 audi a4 1.8 quatro . when I signal ;sometimes signal lights flash well, sometimes when i need to give a long signal - especially when I'm waiting for the green light in traffic- the signal lights stop flashing and they only keep a steady light. on the indicator panel; the signal indicator also stop flashing and become steady. sometimes after 3-5 flashes sometimes after 7-9 flashes they stop flashing... and worse sometimes when I signal they become steady without flash. I checked the bulbs and they are ok...I'ts not about the bulbs... as you see it changes time to time.. I don't know the reason. If somebody help me I really appreciate.. thank you...

Old 09-16-2006, 05:49 AM
4th Gear
Default RE: signal lights problem

Hi & Welcome to the FOrums.

Be sure to use "SEARCH OPTION"

that being said it sounds like a short or grounding issue. Check it out .... if u are unsure take it to a shop.

Old 09-16-2006, 07:20 AM
2nd Gear

no grounding issue at all no need to go to the shop...that would be the last thing i would reccomend to do... considering audis charge an arm and a leg to work on... it is the realy switch in your dash the little emerengecy hazard switch(little red triangle) that needs to be replaced easy pop the trim buy the part from the dealer its like $25... unplug put the new one in and your done viola problem solved

Old 09-16-2006, 08:31 AM

I agree with that ( hazard warning relay sticking/arcing ) no repair just change it and no harm in checking the ground wire for maintenance purposes

Old 09-16-2006, 03:04 PM
1st Gear

Thank you for your help;