Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

03 A6 Timing Belt

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2013, 01:49 PM
1st Gear
Default 03 A6 Timing Belt

So, I am not a mechanic by profession, but I enjoy taking things apart and putting them back together. My local garage wants ~$1400 for a timing belt job. I can get the parts and rent the tools from Blauparts for ~$600. Is this a DIY for someone who just does basic maintenance? I have seen videos and read up on the procedure to the point where I have myself convinced that this is something that I can do. I just need a little push in either direction. The shop says its about a 6 hour job. I would plan on dedicating at least 12-24 hours of my time given my inexperience. So any thoughts?

Old 10-21-2013, 02:11 PM
2nd Gear

It may seem like a lot of work, but it's pretty straight forward, actually. I did my first timing belt job over the course of 4 days after work. I'd do a few hours of work here and there. I would estimate if I did it start to finish without any real BS breaks, then 6 to 7 hours seems about right.

Give it a go and if you hit any snags that's what the forums are for.

Old 10-21-2013, 06:20 PM
1st Gear

It's an excellent excuse to buy more tools!