Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2.8 T-belt failure what are the odds that the valves survived?

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2011, 11:54 AM
1st Gear
Smile 2.8 T-belt failure what are the odds that the valves survived?

Question 1: When a 2.8 has a timing belt failure is there any chance that the valves survived? I can reinstall the belt and conduct a leakdown check to verify but am I just wasting time?

Question 2: According to Alldata, the labor time to replace both heads is more than that to R&R the engine.....doesn't seem likely, could this be true?

Question 3: Need a good inexpensive source for rebuilt heads.....anyone?

I am an automotive tech so I am capable of any work required to get this car running again.....I just don't have much experience with Audi. (my wife likes the A6 so I bought one with a bad t-belt)

Old 03-18-2011, 07:46 PM
AudiForums WilkommenVagen Direktor

Odds are that at least some of the valves are trashed in addition to the possibility of damage to the piston heads. The only way to know for sure is to tear it down and do an inspection.

IMO doing the leakdown test is just going to be a waste time as there is bound to be some damage (though it could help you narrow it down).

Depending on the extent of the damage it may be advisable to just do a full swap. Potentially cheaper and easier.

Let us know how it works out. good luck.

Old 03-19-2011, 10:42 AM
3rd Gear

Originally Posted by ruffdog
Question 2: According to Alldata, the labor time to replace both heads is more than that to R&R the engine.....doesn't seem likely, could this be true?
It may depend on the model and year, probably, but I highly doubt it from a personal hands-on experience.
I have taken before one head out, and am now in the process of pulling out the engine (1995 2.8 non-quattro).