AudiForums.com

AudiForums.com (https://www.audiforums.com/forum/)
-   Audi A6 (https://www.audiforums.com/forum/audi-a6-9/)
-   -   2002 Audi A6 2.7L belt tensioner pulley (https://www.audiforums.com/forum/audi-a6-9/2002-audi-a6-2-7l-belt-tensioner-pulley-226925/)

wprobasco 01-13-2018 04:59 PM

2002 Audi A6 2.7L belt tensioner pulley

I am new to this (and any forum, for that matter), so I am not quite sure how this all works, but I have a problem with which I need some help. My wife's car (2002 Ausi A6 2.7L Twin Turbo) has thrown the serpentine belt and the culprit seems to be a bad pulley (pretty obvious, as bearing is totally GONE) on the tensioner. At least I think it is the tensioner pulley. I have three questions; 1) does anyone have a picture of the front of the engine showing the serpentine belt and all pulleys, 2) If this pulley is the bad one, can it be replaced without removing the front of the car and/or fan and 3) what is the best way to go about this repair. Thank you for your help!

I have found that the serpentine belt tensioner pulley has catastrophically failed. Can this be replaced without removing the tensioner from the engine? If not, it looks like a &!^(# of a job.

wprobasco 01-31-2018 10:28 AM

Originally Posted by wprobasco (Post 1516584)
I am new to this (and any forum, for that matter), so I am not quite sure how this all works, but I have a problem with which I need some help. My wife's car (2002 Ausi A6 2.7L Twin Turbo) has thrown the serpentine belt and the culprit seems to be a bad pulley (pretty obvious, as bearing is totally GONE) on the tensioner. At least I think it is the tensioner pulley. I have three questions; 1) does anyone have a picture of the front of the engine showing the serpentine belt and all pulleys, 2) If this pulley is the bad one, can it be replaced without removing the front of the car and/or fan and 3) what is the best way to go about this repair. Thank you for your help!