Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2003 a6 4.2 cooling probs

Old 07-27-2009, 08:57 PM
1st Gear
Default 2003 a6 4.2 cooling probs

I am new here. I just searched the 14 pages of threads and found one similar but had my own questions and circumstances. The coolant level was a little low last week. My girlfriend was driving Friday and the temp needle went way up and sent off the buzzers and warnings.

I am a mechanic but not real familiar with these cars. I have removed the expansion tank looking for cracks. Nothing. There is no fluid leaking anywhere (until it gets real hot). The upper and lower radiator hoses are the same temp, pretty damn hot!!, The main cooling fan seems to turn slow. The other two are for the a/c I believe.

What the car does is sit at the halfway point on the gauge and after about 10 minutes of holding the car at 2000rpm's the needle rises rapidly. The coolant will come out of the tank onto the ground, which it looks like it's designed to do.

Does anyone have any advice. I'm hoping it's not a thermostat. Do the clutch fans go bad on these cars?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Old 07-27-2009, 10:35 PM
3rd Gear

The fan clutches do fail. Does your electric fan turn on? I am not positive, but I believe the mechanical fan does most of the cooling but the electric fan is a backup, that and used for the a/c.

Your fan clutch should definitely be stiffening up (turning on) if your car is getting that hot. I would start there. They're also cheap.

Welcome to the forums and hope you get your sick car working soon.

Old 07-28-2009, 01:03 AM
3rd Gear