Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2005 A6 3.2 Quattro cold start problems

Old 02-18-2011, 12:22 PM
1st Gear
Default 2005 A6 3.2 Quattro cold start problems

I am a noob to Audi so I apologize for any pertinent info missing in my post(s). Schoool me to any etique if necessary.

My Audi A6 has started having problems starting cold. If it sits for a day without starting it up, it will not start at all. After I jump it, it says the battery is completely dead but, i have replaced that 3 times now and it's still doing the same thing. However, once its started, it doesn't do it again until it sits for a day.

I took it to the dealership and they said nothing came up as bad on the dignostics so, at this point I have no clue what the issue could be. Has anyone ever seen this and/or know what it takes to fix it?

Your help will be appreciated.

Old 02-19-2011, 12:37 PM
2nd Gear

What's etique?

Does the car crank over after sitting for a few days?

Bob

Old 02-20-2011, 03:16 AM
1st Gear

No it doesn't start after sitting a few days. Have you seen this?

Old 02-20-2011, 08:40 AM
2nd Gear

DOes the car CRANK after sitting a few days?

Old 02-24-2011, 02:23 AM
1st Gear

Not until I jump it

Old 02-24-2011, 05:55 AM
2nd Gear

OK, so it doesn't crank after sitting. Most likely cause - a drain on the battery. Most likely cause - a stuck switch leaving a light on. Check your trunk and make sure that the light is off. Make sure all your doors are closed. Make sure no interior light is left on and that there is nothing plugged into your cigarette lighters. After that, you have detective work to do. Pulling fuses might isolate the circuit at fault. An ammeter is a good tool in this situation as it will measure the current draw.

Good luck,

Bob

Old 03-18-2013, 11:55 AM
1st Gear
Default Identical cold start problem 5 months later