Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

97 A6 2.8 HELP!! (Engine and Transmission Replacement)

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2012, 11:23 AM
1st Gear
Lightbulb 97 A6 2.8 HELP!! (Engine and Transmission Replacement)

Hey guys I'm new to the Audi world, I've been playing with domestics and Japanese imports for awhile.

I just recently acquired a clean 1997 A6 2.8 Quattro AT. for a great price but the engine is has a crack in the block and oil baked to the cylinder walls.

I need some advice as to where to get a new engine, also it has an automatic transmission in it now with 200k on it and I want to swap in a Manual since I'll have the engine all ready out. Is this an easy Conversion? and will everything fit together nicely if I get a Quattro Manual Transmission? I'm in desperate need of some advice on where to begin any help is appreciated.

Thanks!

Old 03-24-2012, 12:52 PM
1st Gear

Wow. Changing out an engine is one thing, but switching transmissions is a big job - electronics, clutch system, instrument cluster, interior parts, lots of things will need to be changed. I'd see if you can find a front clip with all the parts so you have everything you need.
Jim

Old 03-24-2012, 02:55 PM
1st Gear

Originally Posted by a6Lou
Hey guys I'm new to the Audi world, I've been playing with domestics and Japanese imports for awhile.

I just recently acquired a clean 1997 A6 2.8 Quattro AT. for a great price but the engine is has a crack in the block and oil baked to the cylinder walls.

I need some advice as to where to get a new engine, also it has an automatic transmission in it now with 200k on it and I want to swap in a Manual since I'll have the engine all ready out. Is this an easy Conversion? and will everything fit together nicely if I get a Quattro Manual Transmission? I'm in desperate need of some advice on where to begin any help is appreciated.

Thanks!