Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

About to buy an A6 but the engine is making an odd sound...

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2009, 08:21 AM
1st Gear
Default About to buy an A6 but the engine is making an odd sound...

Hello from the UK!
This is my first post, so treat me gently

I've put a deposit down on a used car. It's a 2005 A6 2.0i FSI T with 78,000 on the clock. It's in really great condition with a full Audi service history, and my wife and I really love it... and it's at a bargain price. (Well, I couldn't find any better deals on the web anywhere.)

But the problem is that when the engine starts and runs, there's a squealing / squeaking sound (when the car is stationary) that's quite audible when standing at the front of the car. Unfortunately I'm no car mechanic, but it sounds similar to a slipping fan belt, but... more steady and less high pitched.

The sound appears to be coming from the front of the engine.

I don't think the sound changes noticeably when revving the engine, but I couldn't hear it when standing at the driver's door prodding the throttle. (And I stupidly didn't get the salesman to do it for me)

I asked the dealers* selling it to me to fix it, or I wouldn't take the car. Well, they didn't fix it, so I didn't take it. I'm going back on Saturday to see if they've addressed it - but I'd like to go 'armed' with a list of things it could be, and how much they might cost if I were to have to fix it myself.

Any thoughts would be much appreciated!

* The dealership is a giant Used Car Supermarket. As far as I can tell they're quite reputable. For any UK guys, it's The Car Shop in Northampton.

Last edited by RostokMcSpoons; 01-21-2009 at 08:24 AM.
Old 01-21-2009, 10:01 AM

Does the sound change (get worse) when you turn the steering wheel?

Old 01-21-2009, 10:07 AM
1st Gear

Unfortunately I don't know... I'm 30 miles away from the car at the moment...