Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Blowing oil, no PCV? What's up with that?

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-2011, 08:04 PM
BLS
1st Gear
Default Blowing oil, no PCV? What's up with that?

Hi, my daughter in laws car is a 1999 Audi Quattro Avant w/2.7 (or is it 2.8?) V6. It runs great but it's blowing oil out the filler cap pretty good. Fine, a bad PCV valve I thought. Doesn't seem to have one though. What's up with that? And if it doesn't have one... why would it be blowing oil out the filler cap? And what do I need to do to fix it? I'm kinda new to Audi's so any and all help appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Old 11-02-2011, 08:22 PM
3rd Gear

The car is 2.8 and it has one. Open the beauty covers and find the black plastic hose that runs from the front of the passenger side head, around the front and to the back of the driver side head. Then it goes to a valve under the throttle body. Be careful. Old pipe will disintegrate in a second.

FYI, the suction valve under the throttle body can be cleaned using a carb cleaner of sort. Or you can buy an updated one for pretty cheap. You should feel lucky that it is blowing out of the filler cap. Otherwise it will be blowing through valve cover gaskets and other seals, which are very common leaks.

Old 11-03-2011, 07:51 AM
BLS
1st Gear

Originally Posted by hxgaser
The car is 2.8 and it has one. Open the beauty covers and find the black plastic hose that runs from the front of the passenger side head, around the front and to the back of the driver side head. Then it goes to a valve under the throttle body. Be careful. Old pipe will disintegrate in a second.