Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

brake problem!!! please help!!!

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2010, 02:18 AM
1st Gear
Default brake problem!!! please help!!!

hey guys im new to the audi world i just got a audi a6 2.7t , the brakes dont work at all!!!! when i push the pedal it goes all the way to the floor and doesnt even try to stop, i filled it up with fluid and it didnt change anything, im thinking the master cyl is bad??? if so how hard are they to replace??? any help will be awesome thanx!

Old 12-15-2010, 02:49 AM
1st Gear

or possible brake booster????

Old 12-15-2010, 08:00 AM
2nd Gear

It sounds like the master cylinder but it could be a bad line or caliper. You say you added fluid - was it out of fluid? Or, did you just top it off? Look on the ground under the car and see if there is any evidence of a leak. If you see evidence of a leak, investigate the area around the leak. Brake fluid leaks are usually fairly easy to find. If the fluid is not leaking out and you just topped off the reservoir, then change your MC. I haven't done one on an Audi, but usually they are straightforward.

Good luck,

Bob

Old 12-15-2010, 08:33 AM
1st Gear

My first move would be to look for fluid on the ground. If the system is not leaking, bleed the brakes. If this doesn't fix it, change the master cylinder, bench bleeding the cylinder first (some don't need this, refer to the workshop manual) and bleeding the brakes after the install.

Old 12-15-2010, 10:08 AM
3rd Gear

Just curious -- did the brakes ever work? Why did you buy it with no brakes and how did you get it home?

Old 12-16-2010, 09:48 PM
1st Gear

no leaks any where, so it couldnt be the brake booster?

Old 12-17-2010, 10:43 AM
1st Gear